They Said What??? — Cher, Matt Bomer, Katy Perry, Pat Quinn, & Meghan McCain

CHER

(tweeting about Republican presidential hopeful Mitt Romney):  “I Feel if he (Obama) doesn’t get all his DUCKS IN A ROW we’ll b forced 2 listen 2Uncaring Richy Rich! The whitest man in MAGIC UNDERWEAR in the WH (White House).”

MEGHAN McCAIN, DAUGHTER OF ARIZONA SENATOR JOHN McCAIN

“I think it’s so unfair for people to sort of say that gay Republican men must be somehow self-loathing or something of that nature.  They just believe in their country being run a certain way. And until I think the Democratic Party comes out and actually passes legislation, we’re not impressed. I’m not impressed with Obama going on TV and saying, ‘I have gay friends and I think they should get married.’ That to me is the same thing as saying, ‘I have black friends and they should get married but I’m not actually going to pass legislation that interracial marriage should happen.’ If you put it in those terms it’s a completely different situation. And the fact that people just seem to be okay with President Obama doing that, as far as I’m concerned, he’s not doing enough for the gay community and it’s not enough to sway me. I’m glad it’s okay with you guys but it’s not enough for me. I know lots of gay people that are voting for Romney. Because I think in America, people aren’t one-issue voters.”

MORE MEGHAN

“As far as I’m concerned, GOProud is a rogue group that has publicly said very nasty things about me, very nasty things. And they’re the type of gay Republicans that I think exacerbate the stereotype. Ann Coulter is who they had speak at one of their conventions and was touted as some kind of icon, a woman who uses gay slurs on televsion. In gay Republican circles, GOProud are not respected. They do not like me and I do not like them.”

VILLAGE VOICE COLUMNIST MICHAEL MUSTO

(to GOProud that endorsed Mitt Romney in this year’s presidential election): “I always thought that any gay who backs a candidate that doesn’t support equal rights must have some very scary death wish.  It’s self-defeating and downright creepy!”

GOProud’s EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR JIMMY LaSALVIA

(firing back at Musto)”Have you seen Michael Musto lately? We aren’t going to take serious political advice from a human Muppet.  Musto should stick to writing gossip pieces about Lindsay Lohan and leave politics to the professionals.”

MORE MUSTO

“I was hired as an entertainment columnist in 1984, but expanded that from day one to include gay (and other) political issues, as well as doing feature stories and eventually blogs on those topics…. Do I look like a Muppet? Yeah, but how is that relevant? Are the “professionals” in politics the ones who mock each other’s looks rather than try to find some rational defense for their own behavior? And by the way, Lindsay Lohan is openly bisexual and not part of any self-hating bi group, so cheers to her.”

“MAGIC MIKE” ACTOR MATT BOMER

“What we really have to do is stop the adjective before the job title—whether it’s ‘black actor,’ a ‘gay actor’ or ‘anything actor.’  Everybody thinks that equality comes from identifying people, and that’s not where equality comes from. Equality comes from treating everybody the same regardless of who they are. I hope the media and the press catches on to that because it’s time to move out of 1992.”
ILLINOIS DEMOCRATIC GOVERNOR PAT QUINN

(about the state’s chances of allowing same sex couples to marry.  Civil unions are offereed in Illinois):  “We’re moving forward.  The key is to get a majority in both houses of the Legislature to get a bill on my desk I can sign. I think we’re closer every day.”

POP SINGER KATY PERRY

“I think Madonna, especially in the beginning of her career when she was laying the foundation, was evolving every single time and giving a new visual and a new idea to the public.  She kept everybody interested because you never knew what she was going to do next, but whatever she delivered was a solid product.  I just hope to be the same.  I hope to continually make people interested and hopefully in 10 years look back and have written songs that have become timeless.”

NEW YORK KICKS FORWARD AMARE STOUDEMIRE

(after privately tweeting a fan, ‘F*ck you. I don’t have to do any thing fag.’ to defend himself after the fan criticizes his performance this season):  “I apologize for what I said earlier. I just got off the plane and had time to think about it. Sorry bro!! No Excuses. Won’t happen again.”  (The tweet resulted in a $50,000 fine from the NBA.)

Anthony

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

