Mission Impossible (Almost) Accomplished

After going to the movie last Friday night to see “Abraham Lincoln:  Vampire Hunter”, I can assure you that today’s blog title in not about a mash-up with references to George W. Bush and Tom Cruise.

This blog has nothing to do with the infamous May 2003 “Mission Accomplished” speech aboard the USS Abraham Lincoln when former President George W. Bush announced the end of the major combat operation in Iraq.  We know how that turned out.  It also has nothing to with the “Mission Impossible” movie series with Tom Cruise that started in 1996 with the latest installment being released last December.  “Mission Impossible” also has nothing to do with Cruise’s three marriages.

Well, then, what does it have to do with?  “Mission Impossible” has to do with what Ray and I started early this spring with our dieting, exercise, and weight loss.  “(Almost) Accomplished” is where we’re at as July 2012 draws to a close.

As you know from my previous blogs and our Facebook posts, we really enjoy our buffets and all of the incredible food that comes with the holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Eve).

When 2012 started, I was at 168 pounds and Ray was at 201.8 pounds.  Since we met almost 3.5 years ago, I was up about 15 pounds and Ray almost 30.  We decided something had to be done.  (This picture is from August 2011 in Andover, Ohio, while visiting Mom, Betty.)

Nothing really happened between January and March.  While we exercised some, we didn’t change our eating habits.  With the discovery of http://www.myfitnesspal.com, things started happening!

We started our mornings with a walk on the treadmill, we go on several neighborhood walks that then expanded to hour-long walks in Moline, and spent more time on the treadmill.  Along with that, buffets and visits to restaurants became rewards and treats and not standard practice.

At home, we started cutting out the junk, weighing our food to eat proper portions, and counting calories.

From April 2012 to today, “Mission Impossible” is “(Almost Accomplished)!

Ray’s 3o-year class reunion is next weekend and he’ll be going back more than 32 pounds lighter than where he was at on the first day of 2012.  He’d still like to lose a few more pounds and maintain his weight at 165.  Those last few pounds are going to be the hardest.

And, here is me earlier in July in the whirlpool for Gretel’s birthday celebration.

I’ve dropped from 168 to 144.  My goal was to get to 140 pounds and maintain that weight.  However, I’m re-evaluating that.

I’m going to drop to 143 to say that I’ve lost 25 pounds and I’ll continue to eat right, maintain portion control, exercise, and treat myself to buffets every once in a while.  And, I’ll be ready to go on my vacations this fall and winter with my new, improved body instead of the one that was complacent with the extra weight.

I’ll be the first to admit that cutting back on portion sizes and skipping seconds on things you really want to eat is not fun.

Maybe now that I won’t be exercising all the time, I’ll be able to veg out on the couch this fall with the new seasons on DVD of “Dexter”, “The Walking Dead”, “Fringe”, “Glee”, “True Blood”, “Justified”, and old staples like “Six Feet Under” (the complete series), which is Ray’s choice, and “The X-Files” (all nine seasons), my choice.

However, with treats like this last night (sugar cookie vodka vanilla ice cream shakes) and my favorite, Osaka Buffet, I’ll still visit the treadmill daily.  It gives me peace of mind and it gives me a chance to catch up on reading.

Have a great week!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

