They Said What??? George Clooney, Madonna & Others Speak Out

Real life has prevented me from reading a book for the past couple of years.

I think my friend, Kelly Hager, will disown me now. In my book bag that I carry around, I even have an August 2010 “Time” magazine. However, when the new “Entertainment Weekly” arrives, I stop reading “Out”, “The Advocate”, or “Instinct” and dive into “EW” to be current on the world of entertainment. Speaking of “EW”, the first two things I check out are the Bullseye page and the best quotes from television over the past week.

So, each week, I’m going to share some of the things that were said in public that you may have missed since real life keeps you busy, too. (Disclaimer: They are a couple of naughty words! They said them, not me!)

From the “Golden Globes”, host Ricky Gervais: “The Golden Globes are to the Oscars what Kim Kardashian is to Kate Middleton – a bit louder, a bit trashier, a bit drunker and more easily bought – allegedly.”

GIRL FIGHT: MADONNA & MR. & MR. ELTON JOHN

David Furnish, after his husband Elton John lost out to Madonna at the “Golden Globes”: “Madonna winning Best Original Song truly shows how these awards have nothing to do with merit. Her acceptance speech was embarrassing in it’s narcissism. And her criticism of Gaga shows how desperate she really is.”

Elton kicked off the girl fight before the awards with this comment about Madonna, “no f**kin’ chance” of beating him for the best song award.”

Madge did take the high road, “I hope he speaks to me for the next couple of years. He’s known to get mad at me…He’s brilliant and I adore him, so, he’ll win another award. I don’t feel bad.”

MADONNA VS. LADY GAGA

About Gaga’s “Born This Way” sounding like Madonna’s “Express Yourself”: “I certainly think she references me a lot in her work. And sometimes I think it’s amusing and flattering and well done.” “When I heard it on the radio …I said that sounds very familiar. It felt reductive.” (I looked it up to be clear. It means, “crude” or “minimal”.)

BROMANCE TALK

Back to the “Golden Globes” — When accepting the award for Best Actor, George Clooney addressed a fellow nominee, who shows it all in his new movie, “Shame”: “I would like to thank Michael Fassbender for taking over the frontal nude responsibility that I had. Really Michael, honestly, you can play golf like this with your hands behind your back [swinging his hips sideways for a golf club]. Go for it man, do it!”

And, backstage at the “Golden Globes”, Clooney again about Mitt Romney’s anti-gay stance: “I’m not much concerned until there’s an actual nominee, but I think it’s the wrong side of history. I think everyone understands it might be the last leg of the civil rights movement. I do believe that. It’s certainly not the wedge issue it was in 2004, so that’s a good sign.”

Just last week, Clooney said basically the same thing about marriage equality: “I think the world is changing and it’s becoming less and less of an issue and I think it shouldn’t be long now. I think younger people are looking at this like, ‘Who cares?’ “I do believe it’s generational, much like the civil rights movement. Young people started taking to the streets and things changed. This really is the final leg of the civil rights movement.

Bill Maher: “Rick Santorum thinks about gay sex more than any gay man in America.”

New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, on what he’d do if Democratic lawmakers present his with a marriage equality bill to sign: “They have a right to set their agenda, I’ll set mine, we’ll see who gets there first. When forced to make a decision, if forced to make a decision on it, I’ll make a decision.”

White House spokesperson Shin Inouye on the legislation that could possibly take away marriage equality in New Hampshire: “While the President does not weigh in on every single action taken by legislative bodies in our country, the record is clear that the President has long opposed divisive and discriminatory efforts to deny rights and benefits to same-sex couples. The President believes strongly in stopping laws designed to take rights away.”

Actress Aisha Tyler (of “Archer” and daytime’s “The Talk”): “I’m married and my husband is white. Did you know that 40, 50 years ago in many American states it was illegal for black and white people to marry? Well now we have that same injustice here in the United States because gays can’t marry each other in many states. I support marriage equality because I believe that everybody has the right to marry whoever they love. So let’s save traditional marriage by letting gays marry because we straight people are f*cking it up.”

SINCE WE JUST CELEBRATED MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DAY

Rick Santorum, recently in Sioux City, Iowa, told a mostly white crowd about blacks getting assistance through federal benefits programs, that he doesn’t want to “make black people’s lives better by giving them somebody else’s money”. (However, CBS reports that only 9% of Iowans on food stamps are black — and 84% are white. Nationally, 39% of welfare recipients are white, 37% are black, and 17% are Hispanic.)

I’m not accusing Santorum of being racist (and he isn’t homophobic, either), but just this past weekend he was endorsed by influential evangelical Christian leaders. Tony Perkins, leader of the Family Research Council (FRC), said that the group also considered womanizer Newt Gingrich and no-chance-in-hell-to-win Rick Perry. This is the same Perkins, that in 1996, paid $82,000 to Ku Klux Klan Grand Wizard David Duke for his mailing list and then tried to cover it up. Additionally, the FRC, in 2010, was classified as a “hate group” by the Southern Poverty Law Center.

And, finally, in South Carolina this past weekend: A woman told womanizer Newt Gingrich that he is seen throughout the country as “a racist and a bigot” and asked why he talked about people in the “ghetto.” Gingrich: “First of all, I don’t quite know why you would say that, I never … what I’ve said is that we want everyone to be able to rise in all of America. We want everyone to be able to use English and be able to rise in the whole country.”

I’ll end it on a funny note from “The View”. Tim Gunn was discussing fashion at the “Golden Globes” Sunday night and said you should wear outfits to highlight your body. Sherri Shepherd chimes in, “I have big boobs” and Tim replies, “Show them off!” Go for it, Sherri.

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. I will never disown you. 🙂

    (You just made part of my soul shrivel, that’s all.)

    And also, Mary J. Blige should have won for the song from The Help.

    Reply

  2. Posted by zenmonkey71 on January 17, 2012 at 8:47 am

    just started reading you here…. good stuff! Good Stuff! =)

    Reply

    • Hey there Zenmonkey,

      Thank you very much. I like writing and I appreciate you checking it out. If you every disagree, let me know and we’ll talk about it. I like to learn from others, too.

      Anthony

      Reply

  3. Posted by Larry on March 24, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    just love the gossip 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

