Las Vegas, South Carolina, A Womanizer, and Murray State

It’s Sunday morning and I’m looking forward to going to work today.   Am I crazy?  Not only do I have to work today, but it’s the start of a stretch of seven days of working.  However, I know at the end of that seven day stretch, I’m off for five straight days!!  Yeah!

“RED RIBBON DINNER”

I hope you’re having a great weekend.  Saturday was a very busy day for me.  For months, I’ve been working on the “Red Ribbon Dinner”, an annual fundraiser for “The Project of the Quad Cities”.  The event was held Saturday night and it was a great evening in Bettendorf.  Although I don’t know how much we made in tickets sales yet, just in the live and silent auction and 50/50 raffle tickets sales during the evening, we raised more than $30,000.  Amazing and thank you to the people of the Quad Cities who made that happen!  Do you know many men, women, and children here in the Quad Cities living with HIV and AIDS that’s going to help.  Again, thank you.

Dinner was excellent and the band, Smooth Groove, actually got me out on the dance floor for a couple of songs.  I remember dancing to “Celebration”, the old Kool & The Gang song.  While the theme of the fundraiser was the “The ’70s”, that song was actually released in the fall of 1980!  Oh well.  Before the event started they also played some Lionel Richie and Madonna, both from the 1980s.  Since I’m on the planning committee, I’ll have to suggest the 1980’s next year for the theme and I can pretend it’s prom since I never went to my high school prom.  Thanks Stephen King & “Carrie” for ruining that for me.  I would have so been drenched in pig blood!

During the silent auction, we won some items — a “pink bath gift set”, an art piece called “Blue Horizon” (see below top), a framed piece of art called “Fabyan Park Bas-relief”, that is Ray’s anniversary present one month early, and the big prize was a three-day, two night stay at the “Blue Moon Hotel” in Las Vegas, just off the strip.

I can hear Faith Hill singing her 1995 hit, “Let’s Go to Vegas”, “Hey baby, let’s go to Vegas, Kiss the single life good-bye, Hey baby, let’s go to Vegas, Bet on love and let it ride”.  I’m thinking a birthday weekend in October will be perfect there.  Average temperatures then are about 82° for the high and 68° for the low.  All we have to pay for is airfare!

I’ve only been to Vegas once —  in 1993.  I can’t believe it’s been 19 years!  It was a neat place with all the tourists traps, bright lights, and bars that stay opened all night.  The things I remember most were “The Wizard of Oz” display in one of the hotels, partying all night at the Buffalo, and being offered cocaine in the bathroom.  Don’t worry, I declined.  I know how to have fun without drugs!  I remember the “Just Say No” campaign.

SOUTH CAROLINA PRIMARY

While it’ll be fun to go Vegas, South Carolina is definitely not in my travel plans.  It’s not that it was ever on my list of places I just had to visit, but after the joke of the South Carolina primary Saturday, no thank you!

I can’t really believe that womanizer Newt Gingrich got 40% of the vote to Mitt Romney’s 28%.  Maybe it was a sympathy vote because Gingrich thinks the media is out to get him following the revelations (or allegations) last week that while having an affair with the woman that would become his third and current wife, he asked his second wife for an “open marriage” or a “divorce”.

The only good thing that came out of South Carolina Saturday was the fact that only 17% of voters in the primary voted for Rick Santorum.  So, he ended up winning the Iowa Caucauses (really, Iowa!), but it’s not getting him too far.   Santorum is only polling around 14% in Florida for its primary at the end of the month.    That’s a little better than Ron Paul, which placed last in South Carolina and is polling last in Florida, too.

I think Florida will be, or should be, the end of the road for Santorum and Paul and the Republican nomination process will be a two man race between Romney and Gingrich.  O.K.  one man and one snake!

By the way, I only like one “Womanizer” and that’s Britney Spears’ song!  Well, two, Bill Clinton.

MURRAY STATE RACERS

The Racers from Murray State, my alma mater in western Kentucky, are setting the sports world on fire.  Our men’s basketball team last night improved their record to 20-0 on the season.  Murray State is now the ONLY undefeated team in the country after #1 Syracuse’s shocking loss to the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame!

Not only will Murray State move into the top ten in all of the basketball polls ( they were #12 AP and #10 ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll last week), but the Kentucky Wildcats will likely move into the number one spot!  It’s great to be from the “Bluegrass” state.

THAT’S ALL, FOR NOW

I guess that’s all that I have on my mind at this point.  I’m going to make a Tuscan Pork Stew in the crock pot today and it’ll be ready for dinner when I come home on break this evening.  Have a great Sunday and share your thoughts.  Again, we don’t always have to agree, just be polite.

Anthony

7 responses to this post.

  1. Anthony, sounds like a wonderful evening was had! Vegas, baby! Let us know when you are going, we will drive up and meet you for dinner! I am so ready for a road trip, and we love going to Vegas if only for an overnight now and then…booyah!

    I am with you on Gingrich..even though I am a conservative, I am not a Gingrich fan..so we will see how the primaries go from here…Romney would be a better choice for sure..

    Again, congrats on your wins!

    Barb

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rebecca smith on January 22, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Tuscan pork stew sounds amaze!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on January 22, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Congrats to everyone involved in the Red Ribbon Dinner/Auction…what a success! And congratulations on your prizes, I love the artwork. I’ve never been to Vegas, sounds like an experience. Of course we won’t hear anything about the trip when you go, because as you know what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas 😉

    I’ve been digging more into the politicians’ platforms, the more I read the more I think I will now have to go with Romney if the election was today. The lesser of all the evils, I suppose.

    Those Kentucky teams are on fire, aren’t they? My alma mater is the University of Dubuque, and while the Spartans did very well when I was there they weren’t exactly national news.

    Enjoy your stew, it sounds delicious.

    Reply

  4. Kathy,

    Thank you for always checking out the blog and responding. I hope you had a great weekend.

    Anthony

    Reply

  5. […] Las Vegas, South Carolina, A Womanizer, and Murray State […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

