Two Golden Moments This Bleak Afternoon

UPDATE:  Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Miss ABBA now has a new playmate.

Last year, one day after Miss ABBA crossed over the “Rainbow Bridge”, I introduced you to a couple of golden retrievers that came to visit me to help me cope with my loss and my pain.  Sadly, Rusty entered “Puppy Heaven” yesterday afternoon.

Here is a picture of Rusty and her mother (and a dear friend of mine), Julie Callaway, photographed last week by Dawn Johnson of Memorable Moments Photography in Silvis, Illinois.

Julie & Rusty

Here is Julie’s post on Facebook following the loss of her lovely golden:  “Rest In Peace my sweet, beautiful, loving and most loyal dog.. Rustina Marie Feb. 6, 1999- Sept. 30, 2013. Mama and papa will miss you more than you know. Now go find Charlie, and be together over The Rainbow Bridge. I am truly blessed to have had you as my girl for 14-1/2 years. Rest well, Sissy. Mama and papa love you, always.”

Julie, Dave, & Callie Rae (a golden retriever), my thoughts and prayers are with you.

Anthony

ORIGINAL POST:  Saturday, February 4, 2012

It has been strange adjusting to life without Miss ABBA.  All of the correspondences from you all have been great.

My friend, Deana Goben sent us flowers today and I just got another sweet surprise.

Another friend, Julie Callaway, dropped by work with a bouquet of beautiful flowers, a card, and two other precious gifts.  But, I didn’t get to keep them.

That is Callie Rae (left) and Rusty (right).  They’re so adorable, precious, and true goldens that wanted me to keep touching them.  Look at the smiles on their faces.

Miss ABBA never was jealous of me loving on other dogs and I know she’s smiling down at me at this moment.  Now, she’s probably off playing again.  She never had a long attention span unless food and caresses were involved.

Julie, thank you for the flowers and the visit from your babies and thank you for letting Ray & Gretel see them, too.

Anthony

22 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Julie Callaway on February 4, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    I am so glad I was able to make the visit:) I’m glad this cheered you up!! You have an amazing family:) Any time you want a golden fix, you just give me a call, and we’ll come over!! Have a wonderful night, Anthony!

    Reply

    • Julie, Callie, & Rusty,

      Thank you very much for everything. All I could do was smile into those beautiful golden faces. It made me so happy. Yes, I miss Miss ABBA immensely, but there is so much love to go around when pets are around, especially goldens.

      Again, thank you.

      Peeps

      Reply

  2. Great picture…great friend! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liz Toll on February 4, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    ABBA had her fan club.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on February 4, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    How sweet! I can’t tell who enjoyed the visit more, you or the doggies 🙂 Smiles all around, I love it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by jude mathenia on February 4, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I know your heartbreak, everything you see, hear&touch reminds you of miss abba…Hope y’all feel better soon. My friend joel says his moms dog is still at quad ity animal welfare… Hope you will get another one real soon… that’s how we got our 14yr old, we rescued her from Texas 2 days after chewy died then 2 wks we got a puppy…We are stll praying for you..

    Reply

  6. Posted by Cindy Carney on February 4, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Beautiful smiles on all 3 of you!
    Glad there was a little ray of sunshine on you today.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Cindy Hentrich on February 4, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I never knew ABBA, but if she was anything like Callie and Rusty, she was awesome! Glad Julie brought the “Golden Rainbow” over to see you and cheer you up. She is as sweet as daughter-in-laws come.

    Cindy Hentrich

    Reply

  8. Posted by Cyndi on October 1, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    what an amazingly beautiful story – May God Bless you all !!!!!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Linda on October 1, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    Beautiful story..You can tell alot about a person’s heart when you know they share part of it with our furry friends…<3

    Reply

  10. Posted by Stacey on October 2, 2013 at 1:05 am

    Oh hon…I am so sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

