Rainbow-Tinted Love Stories

“Pretty Woman” will always be one of my favorite romantic movies of all-time.  I have watched it more than twenty times since its 1990 release.

Pretty Woman

Some of my favorite lines are “Well, color me happy! There’s a sofa in here for two!”, “Oops… slippery little suckers”, and Edward: “What’s your name?   Vivian: “What do you want it to be?”

However, this was my favorite, the line I recited the most: “When I was a little girl, my mama used to lock me in the attic when I was bad, which was pretty often. And I would – I would pretend I was a princess… trapped in a tower by a wicked queen. And then suddenly this knight… on a white horse with these colors flying would come charging up and draw his sword. And I would wave. And he would climb up the tower and rescue me. But never in all the time… that I had this dream did the knight say to me, “Come on, baby, I’ll put you up in a great condo.”

I’ve always been a romantic and living in Kentucky before I moved to Chicago in 1994, mainstream movies (i.e. man-woman love stories) were your only options.

That was before the internet became popular and if you did have access to gay-themed movies, most were about AIDS and homophobia.  Love stories with a rainbow twist were not an option.

Luckily, that’s changed.  Now, my two favorite movies are “Latter Days” and “Shelter”.  I’ve seen them both more than ten times and I’m having a double feature tonight all alone cuddled up on the couch.

Both movies are romantic dramas where love overcomes the odds.

“Latter Days” is my now my favorite movie of all time.  It makes you laugh, it makes you cry, it makes you happy, it makes you sad, but most of all, it gives you hope.  Hope that we can all find love even if the religious right says it’s not possible for gays.  And, from the title, you probably have figured out that it focuses on the Mormon faith.

We’ve come a long way over the years to show people that love is love, but it’s still not accepted by all and it never will be.  Here’s the dialogue from a very pivotal scene between a Mormon mother and her gay son when he tells her he’s in love with a man:

Sister Gladys Davis: What did he do to you?
Elder Aaron Davis: He loved me.
Sister Gladys Davis: Don’t say that! Do you know how ridiculous that sounds? How repulsive that is to God, to everyone? Two men? Men don’t love, Airy. Women bring love to a relationship.

Here’s the trailer:

The other movie that’s a favorite of mine is “Shelter”.  It’s a dramatic love story, too.  A young man knows in his heart he’s gay, but to his working class family, that’s unacceptable.  The drama comes when he finally meets the man he falls in love with and realizes that he can’t lie anymore to make everyone else happy and make himself miserable.

I’m very happy in my life and I have been for almost three years.  It’s nice to know that not only can the gorgeous and lovely Julia Roberts as Vivian Ward want the fairy tale, but that two men or two women can do the same.

I’ll leave you with this inspiring dialogue from “Latter Days”:

“Do you ever read the Sunday comics?  The comic page?  When I was a little kid I used to put my face right up to them and I was just amazed because it was just this mass of dots.  I think life is like that sometimes, but I like to think from God’s perspective, life and everything makes sense. It’s not just dots.  Instead we’re all connected and it’s beautiful and it’s funny and it’s good. From this close, we can’t expect it to make sense right now.”

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Larry Newingham on March 5, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Ok good blog, makes sense

    Reply

Leave a Reply

