Whitney Houston 1963-2012

Hero:    A person “who is idealized for possessing superior qualities in any field”.

I’m dismayed at how people compare apples to oranges when using this word.

I’ve always been grateful for the men and women that have sacrificed everything by choice, or not by choice, to fight for the freedoms I enjoy.  Whitney Houston did not fight to protect our freedoms in this country, but she did in South Africa.

She can still be a “hero” to her countless fans.

I’ve never served my country.  However, I registered with the draft when I turned 18.  I’ve given back to my community and I may be seen as a “hero” to my family.

So, think about the life that was loss with Whitney’s passing before degrading her because she didn’t serve in the military.  Military men and women are definitely heroes and to many, so was Whitney Houston!

Whitney, thank you for being a big part of the soundtrack of my life.

You fought demons in your life, but you’re no longer haunted by whatever scared you.

Thank you for the music.

Anthony

“One Moment in Time”

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Larry Newingham on March 3, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    To call her a hero is just so wrong in my opinion

    Reply

Leave a Reply

