Entertainment, Help Me Escape Politics!

It’s still relatively early in 2012 and I know that we’ll hear all that we want and more about the Republicans fighting it out this spring and summer to go up against President Obama this November.

So, if you’re like me, we escape into the world of entertainment to take us away from real life.

MUSIC/CONCERTS

By now, you already know that I’m excited about the new Madonna CD, “MDNA” coming out on March 26th and seeing Madonna in concert for the third time on October 13th, my birthday, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

As of now, I’m only excited for two more CDs this year.  Kylie Minogue is expected to release a CD of her “greatest hits” re-invented to celebrate her 25th year in the music business.  And, by the end of 2012, Lady Gaga is expected to release her follow-up to “Born This Way”.

I’d definitely love to see Kylie in concert since it’s never worked out for me to see her in the past and while Lady Gaga will kick off her new tour later this spring, she won’t be bringing “The Born This Way Ball” to the United States until January 2013.

MOVIES

I’m sure this list will expand some, but here are the movies that have my interest that I’d like to see.

In April, “Shame”, which earned star Michael Fassbender many awards and nominations around the world, is expected to be released on DVD.  In the movie, he plays a sex-addicted man and yes, Fassbender shows it all and that’s been getting a lot of buzz, too. 🙂

Also, in April, “The Iron Lady”, with Meryl Streep playing former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher comes out on DVD, along with “Weekend”, one of the most talked about gay love stories of last year.

While I don’t have HBO, I’m excited about the new Steven Soderbergh biopic about Liberace.  He will begin filming “Behind the Candelabra” in July with Michael Douglas playing the flamboyant star and Matt Damon as his much younger lover.

“Dark Shadows”, an ABC television show in the late 1960s, that my mother would threaten us with if we didn’t nap, will be making its big screen debut on May 11th under the direction of Tim Burton and starring Johnny Depp, Michelle Pfeiffer, & Jonny Lee Miller!

Another interesting movie on paper is “Rock of Ages” with Tom Cruise as a legendary rocker and featuring classic songs from Pat Benatar and Journey.  This release date is June 1, 2012.  And, after watching the trailer many times, I can say this movie is going to be this summer’s “Chicago”!  I hear that Cruise is actually taking voice and singing lessons and I can’t wait to hear him belt out “I Love Rock & Roll”.

“Abraham Lincoln:  Vampire Hunter”, due June 22th, just sounds fun.

One week later, June 29th, “Magic Mike” hits theatres.  OK, the title doesn’t grab you, huh?  Me neither.  However, it’s the latest Steven Soderbergh (him again) movie about males strippers starring hot, buff, and scantily clothed stars Alex Pettyfer (“I Am Number Four”), Matt Bomer (“White Collar”, & Channing Tatum (“The Vow”).  The movie is based on Tatum’s days as a male stripper.  What a stretch!

The Batman trilogy finale, “The Dark Knight Rises” hits theaters July 20, 2012.  Need I say more?

Finally, Brad Pitt battles zombies this coming Christmas season in “World War Z”.

TELEVISION

Even though we dropped Mediacom because we never watched television, I’m looking forward to “Malibu Country”.

Earlier this month, the pilot starring my idol, Reba McEntire, was picked up by ABC.  The half-hour comedy focuses on Reba, “who divorces her cheating husband and moves her family from Nashville to Malibu. There she’ll try to reignite her own singing career and keep herself and three kids from being corrupted by the materialistic and rarified Malibu world she now calls home.”  It could be on the air this fall!

Although I was blown away with the first season of “American Horror Story”, I can’t say that I’m too excited about the show’s return this fall without the incredible Jessica Lange as crazy Constance.

Also, I’m excited about the return of “Dallas” on TNT with original start Larry Hagman, Linda Gray, and Patrick Duffy returning and hottie, Josh Henderson joining the cast as grown-up John Ross, J.R.’s son, and Jesse Metcalfe (“Desperate Housewives) as Christopher Ewing, Bobby’s son.

And, finally, NBC has “Hannibal” in development — yes, Hannibal as in Lecter.

DVD

I can’t wait for more “Dexter” (season 5), “Fringe” (season 4), and “True Blood” (season 4).  Confession:  I have the first three seasons of “True Blood”, but we haven’t gotten around to watching them.
Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. I wish “Monk” would return.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on April 19, 2012 at 7:41 am

    Really you are seeing Madonna ?
    Haha kidding !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

