Snow Later Today, But Not the Storm of the Century!

ORIGINAL POST:  Thursday, February 23, 2012, 6:35 a.m.

Honestly, I was shocked yesterday during the 11 a.m. hour when the National Weather Service office in the Quad Cities issued a “Winter Storm Watch” for most of the area for snowfall amounts Thursday and Thursday night of 4-8″+ of snow.

Initially, I went with a few inches with the heaviest (5″+) across the far north, but based on the weather models late Wednesday night, I bumped up the totals a little more.

I still had reservations about how this system would come together after a high temperature of 50° Wednesday and with highs temperatures today in the 38°-43° with the storm arriving.

The bottom line, to keep it short and sweet, is that we will still see rain and snow today.  By this evening or early tonight, the rain or rain/snow mix will change to all snow.

Accumulations will range from 3-5″ north of the Quad Cities, 1-3″ in the metro area and along Interstate 80 in Illinois, and around 1″ in out southern hometowns.

However, if you’re traveling toward central and northwestern Iowa, the potential exists for 4-8″ of snow and there is a “Winter Storm Warning” in effect there.

While this won’t be major winter storm, it will be messy out there today, tonight, and tomorrow.

Anthony

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on February 23, 2012 at 6:57 am

    Thanks for the update 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by KIMBERLY on February 23, 2012 at 6:58 am

    BOO ….I WANTED A SNOW DAY…………….WE HAVE HAD NONE :o( AND I’M NOT A CHID ..I AM A TEACHER ;o)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on February 23, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    We can certainly depend on Anthony to keep us updated. Kimberly, you are funny and I feel the same way and I am a hairdresser. We need a snow day.

    Reply

  4. Kimberly & Tammy,

    I want a snow day, too. I guess since I’m off Friday, that will be my snow day.

    Peeps

    Reply

  5. Posted by Larry Newingham on February 23, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    When i read this it made my day, made the drive home less stressful

    Reply

Leave a Reply

