“Dark Shadows” Rises From The Grave

As a child, “Dark Shadows”, the daytime ABC gothic soap opera, scared the hell out of me.  And, for good reason.

When we wouldn’t nap in the afternoon, my mother threatened to make us watch the show that featured vampire Barnabas Collins, werewolves, witches, warlocks, ghosts, time travel, and parallel universes.  How’s that for great parenting?  🙂

Keep in mind that in the late-1960s, I was only about five years old and that was some scary stuff.  The show ran from 1966-1971 for 1,225 episodes.

Flash forward to May 2012, more than 40 years later, and “Dark Shadows” is getting a total remake.

Yes, Barnabas will be back.  This time played by Johnny Depp.  However, while it be spooky and the special effects will be out of this world under the direction of director Tim Burton, this big screen adaptation is a comedy.  A comedy????

Along with Depp’s 200-year-old vampire Barnabas, Michelle Pfeiffer, Helena Bonhan Carter, Jackie Earle Haley, Jonny Lee Miller, Chloe Grace Moretz, and Eva Green.

I have to admit that the movie looks funny.  However, “Dark Shadows” to me is, well, dark!  I’m not sure I want a 2012 re-interpretation of a show that I feared, and secretly loved, as a child to be a comedy to make me laugh.

“Dark Shadows” hits theaters, including IMAX,  May 11, 2012.

By the way, not only was I fan of the show, so is Madonna. (“MDNA”, the new album arrives Monday, March 26th!)  Ha! Ha! Ha!

“Dark Shadows” Trailer

Peeps

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kimberly White on March 17, 2012 at 8:34 am

    I don’t know…it just might work. I chuckled.

    Reply

  2. I don’t remember Dark Shadows

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mikey99 on March 17, 2012 at 8:59 am

    There were two Dark Shadows movies in the 70’s. The first one was pretty good, but the second one….I can’t think of a safe word to describe this movie; except it was worse than “Killer Klowns of Outer Space”.

    Reply

  4. I remember running home from school just so I could watch this. I watched every episode and even the 2 movies afterwards. Was my FAVORITE all time show:) Especially Queitin:) but of course Barnabas too. Think if it came back on…old version I would watch again:) I’m not sure if being comedy would be the same but might just have to see it. I bet it did scare the HELL out of U. Some of the parts scared the Hell out of me…I would have nightmares….and they were PRETTY either. But it was my all time Fav back in the day:)

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kimberly on May 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE IT !!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

