A New Way To Exercise & Lose Weight

I’ve added a new weapon to my arsenal to be healthier in 2012 and to lose the weight I’ve gained in the past three years.  It sure is easier to put it on than to take it off, especially at my age.

After feasting on ham, turkey, and many tempting side dishes at Christmas, my Ambrosia Pecan Pie (pecan pie with orange zest and orange juice) and many appetizers (and wine) for parties between Christmas and New Year’s Day, I peaked at 168 pounds.

After Miss ABBA went to puppy heaven seven weeks ago (February 3), I started eating healthier, eating less, and hitting the treadmill.  It’s also giving me a chance to read some magazines since I’m so far behind.  I always read “Entertainment Weekly” when it arrives and “The Advocate”, “Instinct”, and “Out” soon after getting them.

However, I’ve been carrying around an August 2010 “Time” magazine in my bag.  Yes, that’s 2010!  Now, I’m up to November 22, 2010, and I just learned that the mid-term elections weren’t good for the Democrats and the Tea Party is really out there– crazy!  Okay, I already knew both of those things, but I’m reading about it  now.

Back to the weight, eating, and exercise.   I’ve dropped from 168 to 157 pounds!  Now, I’ve hit a brick wall since  I can’t get past that number and I’ve started fluctuating between 157 and 159.

Today, I took a gift certificate that I got from Mom (Betty) for Christmas and bought a bike and a helmet.  Now, I can go riding with Ray and Gretel.  I hope it helps with the weight loss.  If not, I’ll have great muscles in my legs.

I went on my first real bike ride before work from our house to my sister’s house and back.  It was a little scary with traffic, but I survived!

Ray, on the other hand, wasn’t as fortunate.  He hit either a broken piece of pavement or a plastic bottle since they were both there in front of Culver’s and took a hard spill.  Luckily, he was wearing a helmet.  However, his five scraped knuckles, scraped hand, scraped arm, and knee weren’t as lucky.  He was a trooper and walked it off and we made it home without any further accidents.

Don’t tell him I told you this!

The main thing I noticed from my bike ride today, and thirty-plus years ago when I was a kid riding a bike, was the seat.  I remember my bike seat as a kid being much more comfortable.  Either seats aren’t the same for adults and kids, they make them differently now, or my butt is much bigger.  However, the bike seat discomfort is something that will take some getting used to!

Peace ☮

Peeps

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on March 24, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Your pie looks awesome! I’m glad Ray didn’t break anything.

    Reply

  2. Tammy,

    Thank you and thank you. I’m glad nothing was broken, but it definitely looks painful.

    The pie was fantastic and I liked the change from your typical pecan pie.

    Have a great rest of the weekend.

    Anthony

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mikey99 on March 24, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Anthony, I put a gel seat on my bike and it helped. I still get “biker’s butt”, but I ride anyway. You and Ray will have to ride the Savanna bike trail sometime.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on March 24, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    That pie picture makes my mouth water! Glad Ray is ok for the most part. Now you guys can train for RAGBRAI, I have a friend from college who rides it most every year & loves it. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      That pie was so good!

      As for RAGBRAI, that won’t be in our future. 🙂 We can’t even ride a few miles to my sister’s house without injuries. 🙂

      Peeps

      Reply

  5. The plateau is an ugly thing to hit. Weight Watchers will tell you that you will have to change some diet things and your exercise routine to get going again. Hopefully the bike will help. If you put :diet plateau” in Google you will find “10 tips to move beyond your diet plateau” Good luck.
    Hope Ray cleaned those scrapes up really well-ouch!

    Reply

  6. Posted by cindy on March 25, 2012 at 7:27 am

    Oh Anthony, all of our butts are bigger ! Seems funny when you’re little everything seems big – but I guess we just found out that once you’re bigger – there’s A LOT of things that seem smaller,………

    Reply

Leave a Reply

