An Exciting Week to Dance (Even, on the Ceiling)

Some people collect stuffed animals, baseball cards, dolls, and husbands.  As for me, I buy movies and CDs.   I have close to 1,000 CDs in my collection, but over the past few years, I’ve really cut back on how many I buy since I’m not a disc jockey anymore.

This year, I’ve only bought five CDs:  Kylie Minogue (Aphrodite Les Folies:  Live in London), David Guetta (Nothing but the Beat), Rihanna (Good Girl Gone Bad:  The Remixes), Adele (19), and Ellie Goulding (Lights).

I’m very excited that three new CDs that I want  come out tomorrow and Tuesday.  Without a doubt, the one I’m most excited about is “MDNA” by Madonna.  I’m sure you’ve heard me mention it a few times over the past couple of months.  It comes out Monday!

On Tuesday, Katy Perry’s releases “Teenage Dream:  The Complete Confection”, which is more than just a reissue of her 2010 smash album, “Teenage Dream”.  This one features the 12 original songs, along three new songs, three re-worked versions of her hits, and Tommie Sunshine’s Mega-mix Smash-Up of some of Perry’s biggest radio hits.

And, the third album I’m excited about and buying this week is “Tuskegee”, the tenth solo album by 62-year-old Grammy winner Lionel Richie.  While he’s not as popular now as he was back in the 1980s, I still love his music.

With the Commodores, Richie scored ten top 10 hits and topped the charts with “Three Times A Lady” in 1978 and “Still” in 1979.

Lionel Richie went solo in the early 1980s and has serenaded us with that silky smooth voice and  commanded us onto the dance floor with 12 top ten hits in the best decade of music, the 1980s.

Of those, Richie has topped the charts with four of them:  “Endless Love” with Diana Ross (1981), “Truly” (1982), “Hello” (1984), and the Oscar-winning, “Say You, Say Me”, from the movie, “White Nights” (1985), which is one of three favorite Lionel Richie songs.  As you read on, I’ll post my the videos of three favorite Lionel Richie songs.

For his new release, “Tuskegee”,  Richie has gone country (!) singing with many of country music’s most popular performers:  Kenny Chesney, Blake Shelton, Darius Rucker, Tim McGraw, Jason Aldean, Sugarland’s Jennifer Nettles, Rascal Flatts, and Shania Twain on the first release from the CD, “Endless Love”, which is already a Top 20 Adult Contemporary hit in the U.S.

Should country radio take a chance and start playing one of the Lionel Richie duets and it becomes popular, this will not be Richie’s first appearance on the country chart.  He hit #10 in 1987 with the group Alabama on “Deep River Woman”!

Here are the original videos of my three favorite Lionel Richie songs.  On the new CD, Blake Shelton joins him on “You Are”, Jason Aldean duets on “Say You, Say Me”, and Rascal Flatts parties with Richie on “Dancing on the Ceiling”.

Party On!!

Peeps

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on March 25, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    I’ll be most interested in your review of the Lionel Ritchie project. I think I already know that you’ll like Madonna & Katy! I loved Lionel back in the day, & I love country music for the most part (I pretty much like all musical genres, quite eclectic tastes), I’m just not quite sure if I’ll like the two combined. So I’ll watch for your take on it, I love reading your comments.

    Reply

  2. Posted by karen mckee johnston on March 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    lionel ritchie was & still is great always liked everything he did

    Reply

Leave a Reply

