Drugs Are Bad — “Just Say No” To Molly & Tina

“Just Say No” was a very popular anti-drug campaign started back in the 1980s by former First Lady Nancy Reagan.

While I’ve never done drugs, I know people that do drugs or have experimented with them.  When I first started clubbing back in the 1980s, some of my closest friends smoked marijuana.  I’ve never even took a puff off a cigarette, much less something stronger like pot.

Back in the early 1990s, when I went to Las Vegas with one of my best friends, it was our goal to try ecstasy.  Once we got there, it never presented itself and we never pursued it, although some offered me cocaine, which I politely declined.

And, now I have a very dear friend of mine struggling with a crystal meth addiction after partying it up in New Orleans a couple of years back.

So, why, you may ask am I going all Nancy Reagan on your ass and talking about the downfalls of drugs?

Saturday night, Madonna made a surprise appearance at the Ultra Music Festival in Miami, Florida, to introduce hot new DJ, Avicii, who remixed her latest hit, “Girl Gone Wild”.  While addressing the crowd of 165,000 party-goers, Madonna asked, “How many people in this crowd have seen molly?” and the revelers erupted in cheers.

To most people, that comment would have gone over their head.

However, it caused Canadian DJ Deadmau5 to rant on his Facebook page, “Very classy there madonna”, “quite the f’n philanthropist. but hey, at least yer HIP AND TRENDY!” and he topped his rant off with this, “I can appriciate (sic) her meteoric career, and all good deeds done, but WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT?  That’s your big contribution to EDM [electronic dance music]? Thats your big message to ultra attendies? hipsterspeak for looking for drugs? fuck off you fucking IDIOT.”

For those that don’t know, “Molly” is a slang term for MDMA, the active chemical in “ecstasy”.  If you’re unfamiliar with EDM concerts, raves, and “circuit parties”, the use of drugs, especially ecstasy, “X”, and crystal meth, “Tina”, are rampant.

I’m addressing this issue because I’ve been very excited and promoting Madonna’s new CD, “MDNA” that was released yesterday.  She admits that the title could be a reference to ecstasy, to Madonna DNA, and or a shorter version of her name.

Here’s my take on things.  Drugs are bad, bad, bad.  They can kill and they destroy lives of the the people taking them and the people around them.

However, people like Deadmau5 (real name – Joel Zimmerman) have no business criticizing Madonna because she possibly made a reference to a drug that is as much a part of “circuit parties” as are sex and dance music.

Someone even called Zimmerman out on this after Facebook bashing of Madonna, “do you need to be reminded that you would be pointless if it wasn’t for molly and ecstasy?” to which he replied, “i’d give up my entire career to remove the fucking rampant stupidity thats plagued my favorite type of music in an INSTANT.”

Somehow, I find that hard to believe.

Monday night, Madonna took to Twitter to promote “MDNA” and Deadmau5 tweeted Madonna, “You’re a role model to 100’s of millions. You have a powerful voice, EDM could use your positive influence, not “molly” talk.”

Madonna then texted him a picture of her in mouse ears with this quote, “From one mouse to another. I don’t support drug use and I never have. I was referring to the song called ‘Have You Seen Molly’ written by my friend Cedric Gervais who I almost worked with on my last album …”  (That song is a house music track where a computerized female voice states that Molly helps her dance and she’s looking for Molly at a crowded rave.  It very well could be referencing ecstasy, too.)

I don’t think people should promote drug use or unsafe sex, however, I don’t think we should shy away and be afraid to mention it either.

I stand behind Madonna and her album “MDNA”.  I can’t wait to jam to it when I get home.  And, when I see Madonna in concert in Las Vegas in October, I’m sure I’ll see many people with Molly and I’m sure they’ll be dancing and having a good time.  I’ll just smile and say a silent prayer that they are only a “recreational” drug user (which I don’t condone) and I hope they never develop an addiction.

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. […] Drugs Are Bad — “Just Say No” To Molly & Tina […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

