“MDNA” — How Many Disco Balls Does It Earn?

Looking at the calendar, it’s almost April 2012, right?  If you turn on Top 40 radio these days, you’ll hear Rihanna (“We Found Love”), The Wanted (“Glad You Came”), Adele, Kelly Clarkson, Justin Bieber, and Katy Perry over and over and over.  However, this week, those upstarts might take a cue from a woman in her 50s and a man in his 60s.

The two top selling CDs are from Madonna and Lionel Richie!

The last time those two were both in the top five on the album chart together was in October 1986, almost 26 years ago!!  Richie’s “Dancing on the Ceiling” was at #1 for the second week and Madonna’s former #1, “True Blue,” was at #5.

I bought “MDNA” by Madonna, which will debut at #1 on the new Billboard Top 200 Album chart, and “Tuskegee” from Lionel Richie, which will enter the chart at #2, next week.  However,  I confess that I haven’t listened to Lionel yet, because I can’t stop listening to Madonna.

“MDNA” can be summed up by guest star Nicki Minaj on “I Don’t Give A” when she gleefully exclaims, “”There’s only one queen and that’s Madonna, bitch!”   (I wonder if that’s a hidden jab at Britney Spears, who opened “Gimme More” with “It’s Britney, bitch”?

After Madonna released “Hard Candy” in 2008, which went on to become her second least successful album of her career, selling only 740,000 copies in the United States (“American Life”, released in 2003, only sold 677,000 copies), I was really hoping that Madonna would hit the dance floor again!  I’m not disappointed.  Madonna is definitely ready to keep you dancing until last call.

The first five songs on “MDNA” are 20 minutes of Madonna musical bliss!

The disc starts off with Madonna’s new single, “Girl Gone Wild”, a throbbing dance number and it’s followed by “Gang Bang”, a very dark and undeniably one of the best and most unlike Madonna songs on the CD.  “Gang Bang”  has been omitted from the “clean version” of “MDNA” because it’s probably un-editable.  It sounds more like a soundtrack song for a violent Quentin Tarantino movie.

Guns and violence show up in several songs on “MDNA” and I’m sure that will be an underlying theme, along with failing to meet the Catholic church’s expectations, on Madonna’s new “MDNA World Tour” this summer and fall.

The wonderful dance club vibe continues with “I’m Addicted”, “Turn Up The Radio”, and “Gimme All Your Luvin'”.  When “Gimme” was released the weekend before Madonna’s Super Bowl performance, I thought the song was catchy, but definitely not one of her best first releases from a new album.  However, now I see it for what it is, a fun and bouncy number.  Try listening to it and not be in a good mood.

“I Don’t Give A”, “Love Spent”, “Masterpiece”, “I F*cked Up”, and “Best Friend” are all incredible, standout songs and are my early favorites.

There are two versions of “MDNA” out now.  There’s the clean version, which features 11 songs.  The aforementioned “Gang Bang” has been dropped because of the language and the violent nature of the song.

There’s also a “Deluxe” version of the “MDNA” that features five additional songs, including “I F*cked Up” and a “Party Rock Remix” of “Gimme All Your Luvin'” with Nicki Minaj and LMFAO.

Of the 17 songs on the “Deluxe” version off “MDNA”, there are only two ballads.  “Falling Free” will have to grow on me, but “Masterpiece” from the movie, “W.E”, that Madonna directed is just that, a masterpiece.  There’s a reason it won the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song this year.  It’s absolutely gorgeous.

There is only one song that I feel should have been cut from the CD.  “B-Day Song” is fun, but it feels so out-of-place.  Maybe if Madonna explains why she felt it was important for her to include it on the album, I might listen to it with a more open mind, but for now, I just want to fast forward past it.

If you want a fun, party dance album for the summer, “MDNA” is that.  Who knows more about dance music than Madonna?  Also, pay the extra four dollars and get the “Deluxe” version.

If not, you’ll miss out on “I F*cked Up” and “Gang Bang”.  One of the eight co-writers of “Gang Bang”, English singer Mika, tweeted this of the song, “weird as f*ck, underground and lyrically cool, it’s amazing and bizarre. I love it, she sounds so good singing words so harsh.”

“Gang Bang” is definitely one of my favorite songs on “MDNA”, along with “Girl Gone Wild”.

On my own disco ball chart from one to five, I give it

Snow Disco Ball Clip Art Snow Disco Ball Clip Art Snow Disco Ball Clip Art Snow Disco Ball Clip Art
Peeps
Here are some samples of my favorite songs from “MDNA” and trust me, these snippets do not offer the full effects of the songs.

“Girl Gone Bad”

“Gang Bang”

“I’m Addicted”

“Turn Up the Radio”

“Gimme All Your Luvin'”

“I Don’t Give A”

“Love Spent”

“Masterpiece”

“I Fucked Up”

“Best Friend”

“Give Me All Your Luvin'” (Party Rock Remix) featuring Nicki Minaj & LMFAO

Leave a Reply

