My Fantasies … Are on Hold!

One of the three winning Mega Millions tickets sold for Friday’s record $640 million jackpot was right here in Illinois (Red Bud, near St. Louis), but I will be at work later today and the next four days because it wasn’t me.

The other two winning tickets were sold in Maryland and Kansas and each of the tickets will be worth $213 million before taxes.

In all reality, what would a person do with $640 million, $213 million, or even, $100 million?

If I won a big lottery, I personally would donate a lot of money to my favorite charities, including golden retriever rescues.  Then, I’d buy my sister, Tammy, and mom, Betty, a new house each and put enough money in an interest earning account, that each of them couldn’t touch, that would pay for the upkeep and taxes on the house.

As for us, we’d buy a place in several key cities that we’d like to live and spend time at each.  Let’s see, one in Chicago overlooking Lake Michigan down below, one in Paris, one in Palm Springs, California, and maybe one in New York City or some foreign destination.

Okay, enough of the fantasy talk since we bought two tickets for last night’s drawing and matched only one number on each line.

I’m just ready for my vacation season to really kick in.  After spending the weekend at the cabin in Dubuque, Iowa, a couple of weeks ago, I’m wishing my life away for all of the other getaways to get here.

Gretel doesn’t know it, but Ray and I are planning on taking her somewhere fun for her July birthday.

Already on the books are some inexpensive getaways:  Indianapolis, Indiana for a few days in mid-May (Ray has a speaking engagement and I’m going along for the ride); Spirit Lake, Iowa, for the week of Memorial Day at Ray’s parent’s place located on the Lake; Fort Dodge, Iowa, for Ray’s 30th high school reunion in August; and western Kentucky in September for my 30th high school reunion.

Ray also have a conference in Houston, Texas, at the end of September that I will tag along for and go sightseeing while he works!  And, everybody (but Madonna) knows that I’m going to Las Vegas for my birthday in October to see Madonna.

And, (Mom) Betty is visiting us in June.  So, I guess we have some things to do this year, even if some of them are just sitting around with family.

I hope that if you’re reading this that you matched enough numbers on the Mega Million ticket to win a lot of money to make life more exciting.  If you’ve got travel plans this year, look forward to them and enjoy.

Peeps

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by jude mathenia on March 31, 2012 at 10:02 am

    ANTHONY WE’RE DOWN IN SCFOR MY CANCER SURVIVOR 1988 NIECE’S WEDDING, MY SISTER IS ALSO A BREAST CANCER SURVIVOR (1991). I HAD WRITTEN AN EMAIL LAST WEEK BUT YOU KKNOW ME I DON’T KNOW WHERE IT WENT.
    I NEED YOUR HELP.
    I WENT TO JR HIGH & HIGH SCHOOL WITH STEVEN STILLS. I LIVED 6 HOUSE FROM JR HIGH & WE WOULD WALK TO MY HOUSE AND JAM TIL HIS MOM CAME. EVERY TIME THEY CAME HERE THEY SENT TICKETS & BACKSTAAGE PASSES. THE LAST TIME HE GAVE ME PHONE, ADDRESS& EMAIL THAT WOULD GET TO HIM >THROUGH HIS MGR. WELL WE MOVED 5 TIMES AND I LOST IT,I KNOW I SHOULD HAVE TAKEN BETTER CARE.
    WE HAD MY HUBBY HA 8 HEART SURGERIES AND A DEFIBULATER. I HAD 6 SURGERIES. DAVID BURKET FROM THE TIMES SAID HE WOULD HELP BUT I JUST DIDN’T GET BACK WITH HIM. IS THERE ANYWAY YOU COULD HELP. MY EYESIGHT, IS GETTING BAD OUR 50 REUNION AT PLANT HIGH SCHOOL IS NEXT YR AND WE WANTED TO INVITE HIM. LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS A WAY.
    MAYBE REBA OR YOU. PLEASE PLEASE. WE WENT TO ALL OF REBA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

