Hats Off To Jason Mraz’s Love of Equality

George Clooney, Brad Pitt, and now, Jason Mraz are three straight men in the entertainment world that come to mind that are not shy about fighting for equality, including marriage equality, for all people.  On the other side of the aisle, we all know that Madonna, Lady Gaga, Bette Midler, and Cher are very vocal in their love of gay men and women and they frequently fight for their equal rights.

To many, Grammy Award-winning singer Jason Mraz is known for his album, “We Sing.  We Dance.  We Steal Things”, in 2008 that reached number three and spawned the mega smash song, “I’m Yours”, that went on to sell more than six million copies.

Mraz also hit it big on radio with the love song duet, “Lucky”, with Colby Caillat in 2009.

However, you probably don’t much about the political and personal views of the 34-year-old health conscious singer that owns an avocado farm in San Diego, California.

Mraz tells “Instinct” magazine, “One of my best friends in high school came out when I was a senior, and I thought that was one of the bravest things in the world.  Where we came from (Mechanicsville, Virginia), it just wasn’t the popular thing to do or be. It made me more of a risk taker in my own life because I saw the example of the way he was living in just being himself.”

After moving to California and working with gay people, Mraz quickly came to realize that all men may be created equal, but not all men are treated that way.

Mraz says, “As I came through my 20s, I began to notice and understand that a lot of my gay friends were being treated as second-class citizens.  They would have great, meaningful relationships, yet there was this ceiling, a limit to how far they could go with it.”

Mraz supports several organizations like the Trevor Project (suicide prevention center servicing LGBT youth), True Colors Fund (started by singer Cyndi Lauper to encourage everyone, especially straight people, to fight for LGBT equality), the American Foundation For Equal Rights (AFER), and has started the “Jason Mraz Foundation” that fights for equality, environment preservation, arts education, and recovery assistance.

To Mraz, Proposition 8, California’s same-sex marriage ban, is the “most backward thing” he’s ever encountered in his life.

After getting engaged to singer Tristian Prettyman, Mraz, at the Elton John AFER benefit concert in January 2011, told reporters that he and he his new fiancée would not get married until everyone, including gays, had the same right.

Mraz, in the April 2012 issue of “Instinct”, “I put myself in the position and said, ‘Now I really know what it feels like to look at my partner and know that I can’t get married.'”

That seemed okay to Prettyman, at the time, but eventually the strain was too much.

Mraz adds, “I’ve never really talked about this, but after a couple of months, she was like, ‘This is kinda fucked up because I really want to get married and have some babies.’  We eventually broke up and I think that was one of the factors. I am a stand for [marriage equality], as well as a number of causes, and I discovered that my partner wasn’t. It’s still absolutely something I stand behind and feel today.”

Mraz recently hit the top ten with “I Won’t Give Up”, the first single from his new album, “Love Is A Four Letter Word” that comes out next week.

While he’s busy prepping his new tour that kicks off in Asia in June, then North America August through October, and Europe in November, he says that entertainers, men and women, need to give back to the people who support them, “Rather than sit there, smile and wave and accept all this applause than an artist receives, I think it’s important to share that light, share that money and share that attention.”

Hats off to Jason Mraz.  I guess I should buy a Fedora hat to tip it to him for his support of the LGBT community and for “I’m Yours”.

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Hats Off To Jason Mraz’s Love of Equality […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

