Mother Nature, The Joke In No Longer Funny

Dear Mother Nature,

As a meteorologist, I have spent most of my life educating myself to try to understand how you operate.  I guess I should be grateful that I know some of the dynamics of how the “Nature” part works.  As for the “Mother” and feminine part, men have been trying to figure women out since the beginning of time and they still don’t know Jack!  Wait, what does Jack have to do with women?  I’m already confused.

Back to point of this entry.  What cruel joke are you continuously pulling on us?  First, you give a winter with only 16.9″ of snow and that’s only about one-half of a typical winter.  I know many snow plow operators that are not very pleased with you.

On top of that, winter temperatures were more than 6° above average and March was the warmest on record in the Quad Cities.  And, now, April temperatures are still running close to 7° warmer than average.  For that, I thank you on my heating bill.

Now, here’s where I’m going to complain.  All winter long I’ve heard many people talk about how nice it was to be warmer than usual and not get much snow.  However, in the whole “give and take” and nature’s way of trying to balance things out, I knew we’d have to pay for it sooner or later.

I was wondering if it was going to be more severe storms and tornadoes this spring and summer or many days with 100°+ temperatures this summer?  That’s still to be determined.

The more immediate concern is that plants and trees are far more advanced in the growing process this spring due to the warm weather and now you give us several nights close to or below freezing.

Everything survived last Friday morning when it dropped to 29° in the Quad Cities, although I did see a thin layer of ice in the bird bath.  (Check out this awesome photo that I took withe reflection of the trees in the ice!)

Early this morning, while only dropping to 34° in Moline, Illinois, many hometowns north and northwest of the metro area dropped into the 25-30° range.  And, now there’s a “Freeze Warning” in effect for all of Iowa and most of Illinois for the early morning hours of Wednesday (3-8 a.m.).

Temperatures tonight will be dropping into the 20s.  I’m not worried about my hostas and flowering plants because they seem hearty.  However, I’m concerned about our King Hawthorne trees that are full of blooms and are looking better now than they have in the two years since we planted them.

I just hope that the hours below freezing are few tonight and that everything survives.

Mother Nature, you’ve had your laugh now, let’s move on and call a truce.  Let the warmth return and stay until November.

Sincerely,

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Couldn’t agree more:)….. U are right just when men THINK they know their women something changes…Hahahaha gotta keep them on their toes somehow right. But for Mother nature….she’s got all of us on our toes….love the low heat bill too but I’m so ready for it to stay warm and not up & down like some women can be…..and men:) U have a good day & Thanks for all the infro updates!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on April 11, 2012 at 5:34 am

    I missed having snow and now I am waiting for Spring rain and some t-storms …….
    I agree lets get back to normal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

