More Severe Storms Later Sunday

I hope you all survived the storms Saturday night.  Although we saw lightning, heavy rain, and wind in the Quad Cities, we were pretty lucky.

There were at least 121 reported tornadoes across Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, and Iowa.  In Iowa, tornadoes were reported in Osceola, Creston, and Thurman.  It’s being reported that at least 75% of the town of Thurman, Iowa, (population:  236) has been destroyed.

In the Quad Cities, there was a 78 mile-per-hour wind gust at the airport in Moline, Illinois, and I picked up around 1.55″ of rain from the storms Saturday night.  There was a little water in the basement this morning and other than a couple of Ray’s bird feeders blown out of the trees, we had no damage.  And, we don’t have to fill the bird bath today!

Although I’m not a storm chaser, I did try to get some lightning streaks on camera to no avail once I got home from work.  I came close a couple of times, but the lightning show was pretty.

We are in the warm sector of a storm that is located in the Plains.  Saturday night’s storm broke out along the warm front passing north and this afternoon and evening’s severe storms will erupt along the cold front being pushed across the area.

While we saw no tornadoes locally Saturday, we could see some this afternoon and evening, along with damaging winds, and large hail.  It’s going to be a stormy evening since temperatures will be in the 70s and there will be a lot of instability when the cold front arrives.

The Storm Prediction Center already has much of northeastern Iowa under a “moderate” risk for severe storms and basically all of Iowa and Illinois under a “slight” risk.

Round two begins today and I’ll keep you updated at work on WQAD and I’ll try to post a few updates on Facebook.

All I have to say is that I’d better not have the same problems today getting warnings on the air as I did Saturday night at work or the atmosphere will not being the only thing exploding. 🙂

Peace, my friends, and be safe later today.

Peeps

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Larry Newingham on April 15, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Thanks for all the info

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kimberly on April 15, 2012 at 9:38 am

    YOU DO A GREAT JOB WITH THE WEATHER REPORT AND MAKING US LAUGH ;o)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mikey99 on April 15, 2012 at 9:41 am

    I hope I don’t spend the evening in my basement with my poodle and a bottle of white zin!

    Reply

  4. Larry, thank you.

    Kimberly, thank you. And, especially the “laugh” part. I try to laugh since violence is against the law and unacceptable. 🙂

    Mike, the white zin part sounds fun.

    Peeps

    Reply

    • Posted by Mikey99 on April 15, 2012 at 10:46 am

      It’s part of my storm kit. Handheld scanners, flashlights, booze. If your bar is in the basement, you’re prepared!

      Reply

  5. Posted by George Kall on April 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Anthony, Thanks for the updates and the other info as well!!!! It is all greatly appreciated!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Doug Kuriger on April 15, 2012 at 10:34 am

    My only negative observation on the coverage last night, was when the sirens went off after midnight in Geneseo, the only thing I could find weather-wise on TV was a small radar image in the corner of KWQC. I didn’t know if this was a warning for Tstorm or tornadoes or the zombie apocalypse. I ended up getting the NWS website up and saw that it was just a strong thunderstorm coming, but surely there is a way to at least put up a crawl on the screen after hours. I hate complaining, I know you guys are working yourselves into the ground when there is bad weather on the horizon, and I hope you know I appreciate it.

    Reply

  7. Doug,

    I understand your point. However, as you know, we can’t break in every time there is a thunderstorm. I understand that you say the sirens were going off in Geneseo. However, we can’t hear the sirens when they go off there. 🙂

    There were no warnings at that time and that is why you didn’t see a crawl. I don’t know what KWQC did, I was too busy minding my business.

    However, in my last cut-in at 11:15 p.m., I said that storms were moving into the Quad Cities with thunder and lightning, heavy rain, wind, and some hail and that these storms were moving quickly off to the east, so there you have it. That’s exactly what happened — warning or no warning.

    And, if it had been a zombie attack, that would have been out of my weather domain. 🙂

    Anthony

    Reply

  8. Posted by Doug Kuriger on April 15, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I didn’t realize there wasn’t a warning out, that makes sense why there was nothing on any of the channels. Someone had an itchy trigger finger out here, apparently. I knew the storms were coming, but when I hear sirens, I think: something REALLY bad’s coming down. 🙂 Thanks for all your hard work and for answering my post.

    Reply

  9. Posted by karen mckee johnston on April 15, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    thanks for the info will keep an eye to the sky & t v on have a good rest of your day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

