$214 Million In The Bank and “Sales Suffer”? Hardly! Roger, Get out of Yellow Journalism

I could say it, but I’m not as fly as Nicki Minaj, so I’ll quote her on “I Don’t Give A”, from “MDNA”, “there’s only one queen and that’s Madonna, bitch”.

Clearly, I’m not the only one that is fed up with Roger Friedman of “Forbes” magazine.  It’s one thing if you don’t like something or someone if you explain why?  I blog about many different things and yes, I blog about Madonna some.  And, if someone asked me why I like her so much, then I would explain my fascination and admiration of the Queen.

Not too long ago, I blogged about Roger Friedman and his constant degradation of Madonna.  As often as I post positive articles about Madonna, he posts negative ones.  There’s been several over the past few weeks.

On the forbes.com website under his articles, people call the man every name in the book, except a white man!  I think I’ve only used the terms, bitter or jaded queen.  (Disclaimer:  I don’t know Roger and I don’t know if he’s a queen.  However, in my defense, how many straight men his age are obsessed with Madonna , good or bad!)

It’s clear the man has an ax to grind with Madonna.  Spill it and let’s move on.

His last article posted Thursday was the proverbial “straw that broke the camel’s back”.  The headline was:

“Madonna “MDNA”: Billboard Drops Her to No. 18, Ticket Sales Suffer”

After weeks of negative press from Friedman, Madonna’s manager, Guy Oseary, fired back on Twitter:


And, Arthur Fogel, the chairman of Live Nation Global Touring, went to Billboard.biz to clear up the misconceptions and inaccuracy of Forbes.com and Roger Friedman.

Fogel called the poor ticket sales stories, “baseless”, stating “This tour is completely on track to end up in the top 10 tours of all time, especially considering we haven’t put South America or Australia on sale.  To say this tour is not performing is so off base I don’t even know what to say. When this tour is said and done, combined with ‘Sticky and Sweet,’ you’re talking $750 million in gross ticket sales. That sounds pretty impressive to me.”

Fogel reports that 76 Madonna shows that are on sale in North America and Europe have sold more than 1.4 million tickets bringing in about $214 million!!!!!!!!!

While many shows in the United States are sold out and more shows are being added in sold out cities, some say that European sales are not as strong.  Fogel admits that sales on the other side of the Atlantic didn’t explode the way they did here in American.

However, he says, “46,000 in Istanbul, 44,000 in Milan, 39,000 in Florence. We sold out two arenas in Barcelona, two in Berlin, two in Amsterdam, we sold 42,000 in Edinburgh, 40,000 in Helsinki, 51,000 in Paris. If that’s trouble, give me more.”

Live Nation signed a 10-year, $120 million multi-rights deal with Madonna.  “She’s at the top of her game and she ain’t goin’ away,” he concludes.

So, Roger Friedman, give Madonna a break and learn something about Journalism 101.  If you’re going to make a statement based on a personal vendetta, back it up with facts.  Wait, maybe you should stick to facts only for your stories.

Anthony

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

