Dreams, They Can Come True

In life, we all have dreams. For some, those dreams come true. But, for many, they don’t.

Some dreams develop in childhood and some form in your teen years. For those that never achieve what they want to accomplish in life as a young man or woman, that’s not necessarily a bad thing because some of life’s best things are what Garth Brooks calls “unanswered prayers”.

There are people who live real life or make their dreams come true and then one day realize that they’ve accomplished what they wanted to and now they want something different. They come to a crossroads in life and ask themselves as Reba did, “Is There Life Out There?” Yes, there is life out there, but the grass may not be greener on the other side.

If you feel that it’s time for a change, then most likely it is.

In a 1955 movie, we learned about a “Seven Year Itch”. It was about a married man intrigued with “The Girl” played by Marilyn Monroe. While that itch was about relationships, some itches have to do with careers and life changes.

Some itches you have to scratch and for some, Caladryl Clear works.

When ABBA and I moved here Thanksgiving 2005, we had each other. I worked the weekend shift for almost 2.5 years, followed by prime-time nights for over a year, then mornings for over two years. Eights months ago, it was back to weekends.

Although I’ve gone full circle in my Quad Cities’ career, life is much different now.

Over three years ago, ABBA and I expanded our family with Ray and Gretel (and Jackie & Tiger, the cats) and almost three months ago, Miss ABBA went to puppy heaven.

For me, there are more roads to travel, more grass to graze, and more dreams to dream. I don’t know where life will take me, but I’m excited and a little scared to face the future, with or without television. I accomplished that dream.

We all dream. Some dreams come true, some dreams fade away when you wake up. We all have them and it’s a wonderful thing.

Anthony

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by dogmomdiva on April 22, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Anthony, what a wonderful life you have made! So many dreams accomplished and more to come! You will be successful in whatever road you travel..hugs! Barb

    Reply

    • Barb,

      Thank you. We don’t know where life will take us. I could be an old man retiring from television or, as I tell myself, I can be anything I want.

      Take care,

      Anthony

      Reply

  2. Posted by Tina A on April 22, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    I love that we are in charge of our own destiny and we are allowed to design our family in any way, shape or form we desire. I’m a single mom and love being a single mom! I decided when I was ready to have a child and I knew I could totally give love and support her on my own! Have a wonderful future, Anthony and
    thanks for sharing your story!

    Reply

  3. […] And, to prove that this has been on my mind for some time, here’s my blog from April 22, 2012:  https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/dreams-they-can-come-true/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

