Don’t Blame Offending Fan Base For Your Elimination

I don’t watch reality television.  To me, it’s a waste of time.  I understand that many people love these shows that feature singing, dancing, cooking, modeling, sleazing on the  Jersey Shore, backstabbing real housewives, and the list goes on and on.

I have to admit that I did watch a few episodes of “American Idol” toward the end of season one in the fall of 2002.  Once I saw Kelly Clarkson perform Bette Midler’s “Stuff Like That There”, I wanted to see if she’d win “A Moment Like This”.

She did and then years later, I got to see her live with Reba in Moline, Illinois, on the “2 Worlds 2 Voices” tour.

While I did check “AI” out, it wasn’t for me.  Even with the phenomenal talents of Kelly Clarkson and season four winner, Carrie Underwood, I do not own a CD from any Idol winner.  I guess they just aren’t my idols.

Nevertheless, I know that 16.5 million people tune in each week to see “Idol” and it makes a lot of money.

Although I don’t watch the show, a headline caught my attention this week and I decided to see what the fuss was about.

Colton Dixon, a 20-year-old from Murfreesboro, Tennessee, performed Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” and Earth, Wind, & Fire’s “September” and he was eliminated from the competition.

He admitted that he is a big fan of Lady Gaga and thought he could really connect with the song,  “I love her, I do. She’s a great artist and she can sing her tail off and that’s what I love.  She does whatever she can and whatever she has to do to stay on top of the music industry and she does a great job of it.”

Colton adds, “I’m like, ‘I can metal the snot out of this song.  I just started getting giddy thinking about it. I saw the smoke and I was like, ‘I’m in!’ and I ran with it.”

After being kicked from the competition, the headline that caught my attention was how the message of “Bad Romance” may have offended his fan base.  I didn’t know he was a “Christian” rock act.

In an interview with MTV News, Dixon says, “I had fun with the song, that was who I was and I had a blast with it.  And you know, it’s not necessarily a bad message, we all want something that’s not good for us, but that’s how I took the song and I had to edit around some of Gaga’s choice words to have it fit me a little better. But still, I think my audience heard Gaga and just went ‘Oh, weird’ and kinda turned off a little bit, which I understand. I take such a strong stance in my faith, I do understand.”

My verdict after watching his version of “Bad Romance”:  It wasn’t that you offended your “fan base”, it was a horrible performance!

I don’t have a problem with his Christianity.  I do have a problem, just like in politics and real life, with people pandering to the religious right or working so hard to appeal exclusively to one group.

We all have to get along and work together.  When we don’t, and we don’t, nothing gets accomplished in this country.

Anthony

Leave a Reply

