“Cunanan” Then, “Peeps” Now — Nicknames

Do you have a nickname?

While I’ve been called many things in life, only two nicknames have stuck.  These days, I’m affectionately known as “Peeps”.  However, in 1997, my good friend and co-anchor, Ny Lynn Nichols, at KLBK, in Lubbock, Texas, hometown of Natalie Maines of the Dixie Chicks and Buddy Holly, branded me as “Cunanan”.  She still refers to me that way today.

For those that may not remember that name, Andrew Cunanan was a California man who went on a five-person murder spree in the spring and summer of 1997.  His first known victim was killed 15 years ago today, in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  His second victim was also from Minneapolis.  From there, days later, Cunanan killed Chicago socialite Lee Miglin and took his car.  He then killed a cemetery worker in New Jersey in early May 1997 and took his truck.

Cunanan was added to the “FBI Ten Most Wanted Fugitives” list and he hid pretty much in plain sight in Miami Beach, Florida, until July 15, 1997, when he became known worldwide when he murdered fashion designer Gianni Versace.  Eight days later, as the FBI closed in on him, Cunanan committed suicide on a Miami houseboat.

So, why did Ny Lynn call me “Cunanan”, a spree killer?  Notice that I call him a spree killer and not a serial killer.  For whatever reasons he killed his first two victims and Versace, his third and fourth murders were out of necessity for their vehicles to get away.  John Wayne Gacy, Jeffrey Dahmer, and my favorite, Dexter Morgan, are serial killers.  They have a certain Modus operandi to their killings.

When pictures began circulating through the media in 1997 during the three-month killing spree, there was a strong resemblance between me and Cunanan.

I was the weekend news anchor in Lubbock at the CBS affiliate then and I was reading a story about Cunanan and an OTS (over-the-shoulder graphic) appeared on-screen with me as I was introducing it.

We did get a few phone calls!

So, that is why I had the nickname “Cunanan” in 1997!

News is a funny business.  While that wasn’t intended to be something to look back at and laugh, it turned out that way.

Peeps/Cunanan/Anthony

15 responses to this post.

  1. They say we have a TWIN out there somewhere…..that would be Spooky something like that. I was always accused of being in bars in Iowa. I’ve only been to 2 in my whole life. We used to go sit at the bar on the corner going up Gaines hill waiting on Wrestling to begin at JDS back in the day. The other one was the “Cellar” in Bettendorf…went to hear a band. So long ago on both. I don’t even drink and was told & seen by alot of people did I have a Good time at such & such place:)) Told them good thing she was have’n a Blast cause it wasn’t me, found better things to do then hanging in bars:))

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on April 25, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    I’ll never forget the day I happened to be watching channel 6 news (gasp!), & the anchor tossed it to “Elizabeth GoodShit”. My dad called & was laughing so hard I coudn’t understand him. I think Dwyer & Michaels featured it on their show the next morning. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cinchy on April 26, 2012 at 11:56 am

    You do sort of look like him back then !

    Reply

  4. Posted by dogmomdiva on April 28, 2012 at 6:14 am

    I agree, I might have been one of those viewers who called in! When I was young, everyone said I looked a lot like Hayley Mills, the actress..I guess I did a little bit, that is my only claim to ‘fame’…

    Barb

    Reply

  5. Posted by Joanne Magley on April 25, 2013 at 10:42 am

    That is funny! And seems like something that David Letterman should have picked up on 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on April 25, 2013 at 10:47 am

    You do resemble him Peeps. I agree ^^ David Letterman would have mentioned that.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mikey99 on July 15, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    “Peeps” is a great nickname and a term of endearment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

