Captured Lightning

What an impressive lightning show overnight!

As the lightning lit up the nighttime sky and the thunder rattled the house (Gretel slept through it), I thought of two things.  After several rounds of thunder and lightning, I finally got up to see if there were any severe thunderstorm warnings.  There weren’t.  So, finally, I grabbed my camera to see if I could catch a lightning streak.

I’ve never been able to, so I found a way around it.  Make a video and then capture images.  It worked perfectly.

The main thing I thought of during the thunderstorm, since I wasn’t working, is that Miss ABBA didn’t have to worry about them anymore.  For about the last ten of Miss ABBA’s almost twelve years, the mere sound of thunder or the flash of lightning would send the golden into a panic of shivering and shaking.

Now, she doesn’t have to deal about it.  And, as for me, now I can enjoy the light show when I’m not working.

Here is the shaky video I got toward the end of the storm overnight.

However, the captured images of the lightning over Moline are more impressive.

Anthony

5 responses to this post.

  1. Dang it…I LOVE thunderstorms and I didn’t hear a thing…what time was this?? I was probably sound asleep in bed. Those were awesome “captures” of lightning though!!! 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on April 28, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Great job on the capture. I never even thought of doing that.
    I have made videos storms but never thought about doing the capture 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on April 28, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I thought of Miss ABBA too. Just think, Anthony…whatever you experience now, Miss A is right there with you. Always has been in Spirit, but now her picture is wherever you go too. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kathy,

    That is very true. She’ll always be with me and experiencing everything that I do.

    Take care and have a great weekend.

    Peeps

    Reply

Leave a Reply

