Who Ordered This Ugly Weather? Can We Send It Back?

Being a weather forecaster can be a nightmare.

It doesn’t really matter if you’re right more than 80% of the time because people don’t remember that.  They remember the 10-20% of the time when it doesn’t rain or snow when you say it will, especially snow.  Or, when the clouds and fog in the forecast are expected to dissipate allowing highs to reach 69° and it remains bleak and overcast and the temperature peaks at 57°.  Oops!

I’d be very rich if I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard, “I wish I had a job where I was wrong all the time and still had a job.”  I used to smile and say nothing.  Now, I say, “me, too.  If you find one like that, let me know.”

It’s now Monday afternoon and while the fog dissipated, it’s still cloudy.  It doesn’t look much better outside now than it did this past weekend.

I’m so ready for the weather to improve this week so I can finish planting my garden and plants, but I want to put this past weekend into perspective.

High temperatures only reached 50° Saturday and 53° Sunday, officially at the Quad City International Airport in Moline, Illinois.  Average high temperatures this time of the year are around 67°.

Although last weekend, April 21 and 22, 2012, was chilly with an average high temperature of 58°, this past weekend marks the chilliest weekend in eight weekends across the Quad Cities.

We have to go all the way back to the weekend of March 3rd and 4th to find a weekend colder.  That weekend had highs of 33° and 32° and we even picked 0.9″ of snow on Sunday, March 4, 2012.

However, this past weekend was a far cry from the weekend of March 17th and 18th when we had high temperatures of 82° and 83°!

Along with the chilly temperatures this past weekend, we also picked 1.12″ of rain in Moline and 1.73″ in Davenport, Iowa, Saturday and Sunday.

Things are going to change once we get rid of the low clouds.  High temperatures Tuesday through Friday will warm into the 70s and 80s!  But, there will be a daily chance of showers and thunderstorms.  Rainfall amounts in that time period could easily top 1-2″.

Anthony

Leave a Reply

