What Do You Want To Know? You Ask, I Tell (Maybe)

Here is it, the debut of another segment for my blog and I have my friend, Cindy Carney, to thank for proposing the idea to me.

In addition to Monday’s “They Said What????” and Friday’s “Peeps’ Flashback 80s Friday’s”, on the first of each month, I’ll shed some light on some personal questions that you want answered.  Since I’m pretty much an open book, I will attempt to answer most of them.  Some, maybe not. 🙂

Back on April 1st, I asked you to private message me on Facebook with questions and here are some sent to me by Kathy M. of Davenport.  If you have questions, private me on Facebook and I’ll answer some more on June 1, 2012.

Here goes!

#1.  How & when did you decide on meteorology as your career choice?

I wanted to be a meteorologist before I even knew what that was.  As a four-year-old, I used to cut weather maps and forecasts out of the newspaper.  My grandparents worked with me on words before I was taught to read in school, so I had a head start.  In elementary school, I used to make my own rain gauges, wind socks, and other weather instruments.  As I got older, all I thought about was weather.  In middle and high school, I always had my weather information with me at school and I would give the forecast.

When it was time for college, I had to choose between doing live news and television (Murray State University) or a meteorology degree (Western Kentucky University).  I chose the live television route at Murray State.  Here’s a classic from the spring of 1985!

In 2003, while living in Chicago, I started the Mississippi State University Broadcast Meteorology Program, a distant learning degree, and officially became a meteorologist in the fall of 2006.  I earned my television seal of approval from the National Weather Association in 2005.

It’s been a pleasure to get to do it professionally and get paid to forecast weather.  When the time comes that I no longer want to be a television meteorologist, I know I will still track those winter storms and keep up on the latest forecasts.

#2.  Did you ever consider a different major in college?

Since I touched on this in the last question, my college degree was not in meteorology.  I got a Bachelor of Science from Murray State University (Go Racers!) in Radio-Television News.  While I considered a minor in Theatre, I chose Criminal Justice.  There is something that probably comes as surprise to many of you.

#3.  Does it ever “creep you out” when we comment on what you wore or said during a broadcast, knowing we are “watching you”?

No, it doesn’t creep me out for people to comment on my tie or my suit or comment on something that we joked about on-air.  I’m just happy that people are watching.  I know that more people watch that station across the River!

The only time I was really freaked out (inside, but I didn’t let it show) was two years ago at the Lawn & Garden show in Rock Island, Illinois.

It was a public appearance, meet & greet event.  One woman, probably in her 50s or 60s, started talking to me.  Since I had already been at the station four years, the woman mentioned a few things that I had said over the years.  She then commented that she noticed right after Christmas 2009 that I started wearing a ring on my left hand and she was happy that I met a “nice Iowa girl”.  I smiled and said, “I was happy”.  While Ray isn’t a girl, he is nice and is from Iowa.

I guess that interaction was just a little strange.  Although she looked the part and was in the right age range, at least she didn’t say she was my “number one fan” and she didn’t introduce herself, so I don’t know if her name was “Annie Wilkes”!

#4.  How did you & Ray meet? I realize you respect his privacy, so just general comments. Was it through mutual friends, or perhaps at an event you both attended?

A “Time” magazine article in 2010 stated that most straight couples meet through mutual friends, followed by the internet (30%).  However, that same study showed that a whopping 61% of gay couples meet online!

And, that is how we met.  We started chatting and when we met, we liked each other and the rest is part of our three-year-plus history.

So, that’s a little bit about me that you may or may not have known.  If you have questions about anything that you want answered, send them to me privately on Facebook and I’ll do this again on the first of June.

Peeps

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on May 1, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Oh I love the new segment and why wouldn’t I !!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on May 1, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    OH and look at that weather map !!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cinchy on May 1, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    To many Oh’s in the last two comments –

    Reply

  4. Posted by Larry on June 24, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    like this, very cool

    Reply

  5. Posted by susan c meador on May 5, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    I Love this Anthony…way too cool.Keep doing this.We Love your blogs for sure~~~

    Reply

    • Susan,

      Thank you very much for the kind words and for checking out my blogs, even though I don’t write as many as I used to. It used to be daily.

      The funny thing is that is from one year ago. I just re-posted it for people that are relatively new to my blog.

      Have a great week ahead!

      AP

      Reply

  6. I love how you’re so forthcoming. Makes us feel like we “know” you even more! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

