Father’s Day Comes Early For Us

Mother’s Day is one week away, so you have no excuse not to remember that special woman in your life.  Since my mother passed on more than 21 years ago, Ray and I will take my sister, Tammy, to brunch, I’ll celebrate with Betty (Mom) next month when she visits, and we’ll honor Ray’s mother, Donna, when we see her later this month in Spirit Lake.

But, it’s never too early to think about Father’s Day, which is June 17th year.

(Miss ABBA and Mr. Panda enjoying cheese from our outdoor Father’s Day brunch last year.)

In the past, I’ve always bought myself something small from Miss ABBA to celebrate the day.  However, over the past three years, Ray and Gretel have bought me a gift from them and Miss ABBA.  So, while I won’t get that gift from my golden this year, Ray and I bought each other something last week “from Gretel”.

He’s always wanted a “Japanese Maple” tree, but he didn’t want to pay hundreds of dollars for it.  So, I found two at Aldi for $14.99 each.  They are both about three feet tall and they look good.  We’re not planning on going anywhere in the next ten years, so we can watch them grow.

And, the other day while ripping out recipes from my “Midwest Living”, “Southern Living”, “Better Homes and Gardens”, and “Food & Wine” magazines, I came across a “Vanilla Strawberry” Hydrangea that was stunning.  However, the plants were very small and expensive.  So, I put it on the back burner.

Then, as we were looking at the HyVee garden center Thursday, we came across one and it was already more than two feet tall and three feet wide and less expensive than in the magazine!

Here is a picture of mine and a stock photo of what it is going to look like.

Oh, by the way, Madonna doesn’t like hydrangeas, so if she ever asked, I’ll deny I have one and if she visits, I’ll cover it up!  While she had a mic on, Madonna was caught saying that didn’t really like hydrangeas after a fan gave her the flowers as a gift.  So, she poked fun at herself in this video.

This year, I turned ABBA’s garden and the poinsettia garden into a flower garden and in the center I planted three tomato plants and one pepper plant in memory of Miss ABBA.  The hill under the vegetables should have a blanket of while alyssum on it.   I also planted three hot lemon peppers on the outer edge of the flower bed.

So, we’ve been very busy.  I’m looking forward to my days off this week (Thursday and Friday) where I’m going to attempt something that I’ve never done before with the mint that came back this year and took over the herb garden.

Oh, Miss ABBA, I may still buy that pretty gardenia for myself and pretend it’s from you this Father’s Day. 🙂

Peeps

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kimberly on May 6, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I BOUGHT A LITTLE SICK LOOKING PEAR TREE FROM BIG LOTS A FEW YEARS BACK ….MY HUSBAND KINDA KIDDED ME AND SAID DO YOU REALLY THINK YOU WILL EVER GET FRUIT FROM THAT !!! WELL EVERY OTHER YEAR WE GET HUGE YUMMY PEARS ON IT ….BUT WE HAVE MOVED FROM THAT HOUSE TO THE COUNTRY I WANT TO PLANT ANOTHE PEAR TREE HERE SO I GOT A START FORM MY BIG LOTS TREE AND I HOPE IT TAKES ROOT :o)

    Reply

  2. Kimberly,

    That’s awesome that you got pears. Plant another one!

    Peeps

    Reply

Leave a Reply

