Remembering My Mom on Mother’s Day

It was almost 100 years ago, on May 9, 1914, that President Woodrow Wilson proclaimed the first national Mother’s Day.

I want to take a moment to wish my sister, Tammy, my “mom”, Betty, and Ray’s mother, Donna, along with all of the moms out there that check out my blog and my Facebook page a very special Happy Mother’s Day!  I hope you all have a very nice day whatever it is that you choose to do.  And, this also goes out to the ladies that may only be moms to four-legged creatures.

I’m thrilled to have my sister in the Quad Cities and Ray and I are taking her out to brunch this morning.  It’s the only thing she’ll get this year since her two grown sons failed to commemorate the day for her.  But, this is not about them.

Since I’ve already wished you a Happy Mother’s Day, I want to reflect back to the last Mother’s Day I spent with my mother, Dessie.


In 1990, it was also on May 13th.  Instead of going out to the local Golden Corral, which my mother loved to do, we took a little road trip two-and-a-half hours away to Nashville, Tennessee, to have champagne brunch at my favorite restaurant, the 101st Airborne.

This was a big deal for my mother because she never got to do much traveling.

We enjoyed our brunch with everything from caviar to prime rib to desserts.  The funny thing about the day is that my mother didn’t drink and champagne is my favorite spirit.  I would drink my glass of champagne and start drinking my mother’s.  Every time the server would come around, my mother’s glass would be empty and they would fill it and top off mine.  I didn’t keep count of how many times this happened.  All I know is that they probably thought my dear mother was a lush! 🙂

Mom, I hope you’re smiling about that now.

After brunch, we visited the beautiful and historic Opryland Hotel.  We also did a little shopping and my mother was talking about this country song she really loved and so I bought her the cassette single.  Do you remember those?

So, in memory of my dear mother, I dedicate that #1 song, “Chains”, from Patty Loveless, who is one of my favorite.

Mom, you were only 47 years old when you were taken from us all too soon.  I remember you on this Mother’s Day and every day!  And, how special and knowing was this great woman?  She bought me the “Colour By Numbers” album, yes album, in 1983, for my 19th birthday!

Anthony

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on May 13, 2012 at 9:41 am

    Those are nice memories. She would be so proud of you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on May 13, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Your mom sure raised a wonderful man. Happy Mother’s Day.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Deinda on May 13, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    What a great tribute to your Mom. You did her proud. Hope you and yours have a beautiful day.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lanika on May 13, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Oh my goodness!! Tammy looks just like your mother. I love Tammy with all my heart and I am so glad she has a brother as special as you to share this day with her.I am sorry her own children never called. Thats such a shame. They will think different when they grow up, if it’s not too late.

    Reply

  5. Very beautiful Anthony. You blessed her life in more ways than you will ever imagine, just as she blessed yours. As a Mama, I feel the pride for her….you are a wonderful human being that I feel fortunate to have as my “Friend”….Thank you for sharing such special memories with the world. Your sister is blessed to have such a wonderful brother also. It is sad when there is conflict in a family….my brother has not spoken to me since November, 2008….so I do understand. I thank you, too, for blessing all of lives that you touch….Love to your little family.

    Reply

    • Tami,

      That is a very sweet thing to say. I appreciate it. I’m happy that we are friends, too.

      I hope things change with your brother. Although I don’t know the circumstances, I hope you two find peace and reconcile.

      Have a great week, my friend.

      Anthony

      Reply

Leave a Reply

