They Said What??? Cher, Caroline Kennedy, Shannon Doherty, Rick Santorum, & President Obama

ACTRESS/SINGER CHER

“If Romney gets elected I don’t know if i can breathe same air as Him & his Right Wing Racist Homophobic Women Hating Tea Bagger Masters”

NORTH CAROLINA GOVERNOR BEV PERDUE

(on the passage of “Amendment One”):  “People around the country are watching us, and they’re really confused to have been such a progressive, forward-thinking, economically driven state that invested in education and that stood up for the civil rights people including the civil rights marches back in the ’50s and ’60s and ’70s.  Folks are saying ‘What in the world is going on with North Carolina?’ We look like Mississippi.”

ACTRESS SHANNON DOHERTY

“I don’t want anyone to think that I’m a bitch. We can all be bitches — Mother Theresa probably had a moment when she got a little bitchy. [laughs]. Everybody has their moments. It’s fricking life! And it’s not that big of a deal.”

MORE SHANNON DOHERTY

“Two men, two women should be able to get married. It’s not about your sex, it’s about love and commitment. No state has the right to tell someone, “No, this is not legal in the eyes of the state.” That is the most ridiculous statement in the world when you then go and preach that this is a free country. That is mind boggling to me. And again, this takes me back to hate and judgement. I don’t understand it. I am a Southern Baptist girl and I’m sure some people would cringe at my words but anyone can go and pick up the Bible where it says not to judge! It says that! And yet people are judging. And people saying gay marriage is not right and shouldn’t be legal — that’s a judgement. It’s so frustrating because it feels to me like we take one step forward and two steps backwards all the time. We’re supposedly this progressive country and I’d like to see where the progression is, personally.”

RON BROWN, UNIVERSITY OF NEBRAKSA-LINCOLN FOOTBALL COACH

“Not all of my players have agreed with the Bible’s views. One example, of many, would be those choosing heterosexual sex outside of marriage. Though the Bible teaches this as sin, I haven’t penalized them with playing time or discrimination of any sort. Because I love them, I’ve invested in them even outside of football and gently asked them to consider God’s view on it. If I coached a gay player, because the Bible says homosexuality is a sin, I would do the same. If he didn’t agree, I wouldn’t penalize him with playing time or any form of discrimination. I have and will embrace every player I coach, gay or straight … but I won’t embrace a legal policy that supports a lifestyle that God calls sin.”

RICK SANTORUM, FORMER REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL WANNABE

“Above all else, we both agree that President Obama must be defeated.  It will require all hands on deck if our nominee is to be victorious. Gov. Romney will be that nominee and he has my endorsement and support to win this the most critical election of our lifetime.”

CAROLINE KENNEDY, DAUGHTER OF PRESIDENT JOHN F. KENNEDY

“There are few things in life more important than being able to marry and build a family with the person you love.  This fundamental right should be available to all Americans, including gay and lesbian couples. In our democracy we are fortunate to have elected officials at all levels of government, and courageous jurists who have put their careers on the line, to uphold the promise of equality that is as old as our Constitution, and I hope that many more will follow their example.”
CHAD GRIFFIN, INCOMING PRESIDENT, HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGN

(about Vice President Joe Biden’s support of marriage equality):  “Only in Washington and in politics could someone attempt to parse the words of what the vice president of the United States said on Meet the Press.  His words speak for themselves — and they send an incredibly important message outside Washington to the young LGBT teenager hearing the vice president of the United States talk about his belief in marriage equality and the fact that he or she can grow up and have the same dreams and aspirations as their friends, their colleagues, their parents.”

JAY CARNEY, WHITE HOUSE PRESS SECRETARY

“I have no updates on the president’s personal views.  What the vice president said yesterday was to make the same point that the president has made previously, that committed and loving same-sex couples deserve the same rights and protections enjoyed by all Americans.”

PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA

“I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredible committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same-sex couples should be able to get married.”

R. CLARKE COOPER, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, LOG CABIN REPUBLICANS

“That the president has chosen today, when LGBT Americans are mourning the passage of Amendment One, to finally speak up for marriage equality is offensive and callous.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

