“Sign “☮” the Times”

It was the late-1980s and the world had already dealt with several years of the Ronald Reagan presidency.  The mood wasn’t exactly happy, although the music from that decade, in my honest opinion, was the best in my lifetime.

In “Pretty Woman”, from 1990, Julia Robert’s character Vivian Ward, exclaimed while singing along with one of the musical geniuses of our time, “Don’t you just love Prince?” and Richard Gere’s Edward Lewis replied, “More than life itself.”

Prince is incredible.  And, while I’m confessing my love of his music from his fun songs like “Little Red Corvette”, “1999”, “Kiss”, “Raspberry Beret” and “Pop Life”, he also knew how to craft deep and moody songs like “I Would Die 4 U”, “When Doves Cry” and “Purple Rain”, this blog is not about Prince.

It’s a play on his hit from early 1987, “Sign “☮” the Times“, that stormed up the charts to reach #3 in the spring.  It wasn’t your typical fun spring song since it opened up with a French man dying of AIDS and his girlfriend finding the needle and doing the same.  It also addressed teenage gangs, deadly hurricanes, mothers killing their babies, and drug use.

It definitely wasn’t bubble gum pop and the song made you think.

“LOVE ALL”

While I was in Indianapolis over the past few days, I took a picture at the Hard Rock Cafe that I hope is a “Sign o’ The Times”.

The complete signage, “Love All – Serve All”, has been part of the company’s motto since 1971 to “do well by doing good”.  In today’s age, that is encouraging to see.

WHAT ROM-COM IS PLAYING HERE?

Maybe this sign is an indication why the romantic comedy “Five-Year Engagement” has only made $26 million dollars and hasn’t even earned back its money.

But, then again, I’m sure there are many men and women that after many years of being together might like an “enGAGment”.  Just stop talking, dear!

FLASHBACK TO THE ’80S”

In Indy, there’s an upscale steakhouse that also is well-known for its very spicy shrimp cocktail?

I just wonder if the “Brat Pack” wait tables here and if they grill their steaks over “St. Elmo’s Fire”?

STAY CLASSY

And, finally, this sign in Dubuque  this past March is still one of my favorites that I’ve taken a picture of and I know many of us have been there at one point or another.

Oh, just for fun, this was the sign that made me happiest in Indianapolis, even though the “Love All” Hard Rock Cafe was my favorite and touched me the most.

Here’s a bonus video of the song that was blasting at the Hard Rock Cafe when I walked by the restaurant.

Peeps

Leave a Reply

