A Bittersweet Spirit Lake Vacation

Spirit Lake, Iowa, here we come.   Vacation season for me officially kicks off today!  My sister is now in charge of the fish pond and Gretel’s cats!

As we relax listening to the crashing waves at Ray’s parent’s house for the next six days, the trip is going to be bittersweet.  Prior to this trip, I’ve been there four times:  the past three summers and once right around Christmas.  However, this is the first time there without Miss ABBA.  It’s going to be weird getting out of the car and not having her run down the dock and then into the water within seconds.

Miss ABBA loved the Lake.  It didn’t matter whether she was swimming, fishing, boating, or retriever sticks and limbs.

This video is from last Labor Day.

Also, I think that Miss ABBA knew that the frozen lake was still the same one she would swim in during the summer months.  This is from Christmas 2010.

As for me, I plan to relax, eat healthy, maybe go fishing for the first time in almost 30 years (I’ve never caught a walleye), and read two books (I’m being really optimistic).

I haven’t read a book in years since I’m still trying to get caught up on my magazines.

First up is “Golden Days:  Memories of a Golden Retriever by Arthur Vanderbilt.  Miss ABBA bought me the book many years ago and I hoped it would be a long time before I had to read it.  So, I guess it’s time.  When Miss ABBA went to “puppy heaven” in February, Ray read it in one day and smiled and said, “That golden was definitely like ABBA”.  So, I know I’ll smile and maybe shed a few tears.

And, the other book is more disturbing.  It’s called “Room:  A Novel” by Emma Donoghue.

Some of you may have already read it, but if you haven’t heard of it, here’s how it’s described:

“To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It is where he was born and grew up; it’s where he lives with his Ma as they learn and read and eat and sleep and play. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it is the prison where Old Nick has held her captive for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for Jack. But she knows it’s not enough…not for her or for him. She devises a bold escape plan, one that relies on her young son’s bravery and a lot of luck. What she does not realize is just how unprepared she is for the plan to actually work.

Told entirely in the language of the energetic, pragmatic five-year-old Jack, Room is a celebration of resilience and the limitless bond between parent and child, a brilliantly executed novel about what it means to journey from one world to another.”

I hope you all have a great weekend and a fun week ahead without me.  🙂  Just kidding!  I’ll be blogging and checking Facebook between vodka/diet tonics.

Anthony

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Renea robison on May 25, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    It will be a bitter sweet return to the lake for you. You have wonderful memories of your beauty and can keep those close to your heart. She is smiling down on you and don’t be surprised to here a splash that you can’t figure where it came from. It will be ABBA hitting the water for the first time this year. Bless you all and enjoy your break. Take some you time.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on May 25, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Miss Abba is always with you……..

    Reply

  3. I have read Room and could barely put it down. Puts life into prospective for you real quick.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mikey99 on May 25, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    As a song from the 1960’s used to say, “Live for today and don’t worry about tomorrow.” I try to live life one day at a time, but the old memories still creep back, including all the dogs I’ve had to put down. Walleye fishing may be just the thing for you. There is a calming effect just by being near a body of water, so enjoy your vacation Peeps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

