Relaxing, Fish Viewing, & Golden Days

It’s day three of our getaway to Spirit Lake, Iowa.  Memorial Day is turning out to be a mostly sunny, breezy, and rather pleasant one with temperatures in the 70s.  It definitely feels nice right on the Lake with the south winds blowing across the cooler lake water keeping the warmth in check.  I won’t be saying that tomorrow or Wednesday with highs struggling to make it into the 60s.

As is the case back home, I can’t sleep past 6 or 6:30 a.m.  To keep from waking everyone else up, I’ve been heading out early in the morning to see if I can capture some amazing sunrise and nature pictures.

I’ve seen two families of ducks or geese, but I haven’t been able to get a perfect picture of them.

However, I did find several schools of huge carp swimming around doing their thing.  If you want a free trip to my free Spirit Lake Aquarium, check out these two videos.  One is about 26 seconds and the other, when the fish get scared is about 12 seconds long.

After breakfast today, I took some “me” time and headed out onto the dock with the Spirit Lake white-capping around me to read a few more pages of the first book I’ve read in more than three years, “Golden Days:  Memories of a Golden Retriever” by Arthur Vanderbilt.

And, speaking of Golden memories, Miss ABBA basked in the sunshine on the dock today, too! 🙂

While I’ve indulged in some naughty treats that Ray’s mother, Donna, made from scratch, I think the walks along the Lake are helping to balance things out.  I’m not weighing while I’m here and I’m not being religious with calorie counting either.  I’m on vacation.  With that being said, I’m not that concerned with it, yet I don’t want to pack on many pounds while I’m here.  I still want my reward of Osaka Buffet and sushi when I return home and I reach my goal of 147 pounds.

I hope you’re having a great extended weekend if you’re one of the lucky ones.  If you’re working, I hope you’re making the best of it.

Peace!

Peeps

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on May 28, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Carpe diem=”seize the day”. Carpe carp=”seize the fish”. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Margie Goodman on May 28, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    I hope you are having a great time, sounds like it is a great vacation. As always you have touched me with your Dear Sweet Miss Abba! My husband and I have both said when it is time for us to get another dog, we are going to get us a beautiful golden and we are going to name her Abbie, after your special angel. I love all of your stories, and all the tender moments you have shared with us. Enjoy your rest of vacation, we will be here when you get home.

    Margie

    Reply

  3. Margie,

    ABBA would be so honored. Yes, goldens are so majestic, beautiful, and sweet. I’m glad you enjoy the Miss ABBA stories as much as I enjoy telling them. Take care.

    Anthony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

