Reflections While Staring At Spirit Lake

We still have two more days of vacation in Spirit Lake, Iowa.  I’ve really enjoyed my time away.  It is giving me plenty of time to think about my life and my future and to eat some really good food.

Papa Ray and Donna, Ray’s parents, with Ray’s help, have made some really good food.  We’ve had shrimp, chicken, and pork kabobs, barbecued grilled chicken, and barbecued ribs.

We’ve also been bad and gone out for pizza and Chinese food.

Sitting on the dock and staring out onto Spirit Lake is giving me plenty of time for reflections.  (Isn’t this absolutely gorgeous?)

I’ve been pontificating about what I want to do when I get home.  I haven’t been asked to renew my contract, but it doesn’t expire until the end of the November.  While I love forecasting weather and being a television meteorologist, I’m not exactly happy with being on weekends after almost seven years at the station. Believe it or not, I loved being on the morning show.  The lack of sleep didn’t bother me.

However, the bottom line is that I have a job!  In today’s economy, that’s a great thing.

I’ve also spent a lot of time thinking about Miss ABBA .  She was always ready for a boat ride, swimming, and riding on the golf cart.  But, I know she is with us and smiling down upon us, especially the other night when it was thundering and lightning.

With two more days of vacation left, I still have to catch enough fish for Donna to make fried walleye for dinner Thursday night.

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on May 31, 2012 at 8:10 am

    I miss you in the mornings too 😦
    Whatever you do and how things work it is always what was meant to be somehow.
    Enjoy the rest of your vacation,
    Cindy

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cinchy on May 31, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Meant to say “how things work out” ……….. ugh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

