Today’s Church Lesson — Hate

It’s Sunday and some of you went to church Saturday night and some of you went this morning.  Since I wasn’t there with you, I don’t know how welcoming your sermon was or if it was one that called for the condemnation of sinners.

I remember being forced to go to church as a child by my mother.  While I knew I was different even then, The First Assembly of God Church in Mayfield, Kentucky, didn’t scare me because of that.  I didn’t know what gay meant as a small kid.
However, I do know that all of the talk of the rapture and waking up to find members of your family gone and all of the emphasis on the book of Revelations didn’t just scare the hell out of me, it scared me away from church.

But, it never turned me away from praying to God almighty.  I still pray to this date.  I’m very grateful for what the Lord has provided for me.

I always knew I was gay.  I didn’t choose this “alternative lifestyle”.  I didn’t hope or pray to be this different and have people spew hate and ridicule toward my fellow brothers and sisters.  I don’t recall an anti-gay sermon from Brother Carey Puckett, but I can’t say that there wasn’t one because I was not a religious church-goer.

I know that there are many Christians out there that really believe that God should be the only one that judges on Earth, as in heaven, and God loves all of his children and that he didn’t make mistakes.

Many advancements have been made over the past few years in people’s perception of people in the LGBT (lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgender) community.  Many states allow those couples to get married or have civil unions, some states allow those Americans to adopt children in a caring and loving home, and many states still have a lot of room for improvement.

We even have a sitting president that believes that same-sex couples should have the same rights as any other Americans to marry.  Two days ago, President Barack Obama proclaimed June “Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride” month, by saying, “I call upon the people of the United States to eliminate prejudice everywhere it exists, and to celebrate the great diversity of the American people.”

President Obama even asked Americans to celebrate the everyday hero, people in the LGBT community!  “As we celebrate LGBT Pride month, we remember the activists and advocates who refused to be treated like second-class citizens. People like Jean Manford and Harvey Milk, who marched and protested and believed in a better future. But we also remember the unsung heroes. The millions of LGBT Americans for whom everyday acts required extraordinary courage. The young people who came out as gay or transgender to their parents not knowing what to expect. The two moms or two dads who went to an open house or PTA meeting not knowing how they would be received. The couple that got married even if their bosses or neighbors wouldn’t approve, at least not right away.  Most of these heroes didn’t set out to make history, but that’s exactly what they did.  Bit by bit, step by step they bent the arc of the moral universe toward justice.”

That should be enough with Pride flags flying on this weekend that the Quad Cities are celebrating diversity with its two-day Pride festivities.  But, sadly, there’s plenty of hate coming from the pulpits.
In North Carolina, Pastor Charles Worley told his congregation that gays should be exiled behind an electric fence so they’d die off.

Maybe someone should email him this image. 🙂

As repulsive as Worley’s views are, it’s even sadder when he has people who believe his rhetoric.  Nevertheless, I still have to shake my head and smile when I see his followers try to make sense of his hate or his understanding of God’s word.

Just last week, Kansas Pastor Curtis Knapp stated that he wanted the U.S. government to follow one quick Leviticus passage and exterminate all the gays.  After that, he clarified his comments with “we punish pedophilia. We punish incest. We punish polygamy and various things. It’s only homosexuality that is lifted out as an exemption.”

http://cnn.com/video/?/video/us/2012/05/31/start-ks-pastor-homosexuality-comments.cnn

Earlier this spring, in Fayetteville, North Carolina, Sean Harris, the senior pastor at Berean Baptist Church told his congregation, “So your little son starts to act a little girlish when he is four years old and instead of squashing that like a cockroach and saying, ‘Man up, son, get that dress off you and get outside and dig a ditch, because that is what boys do,’ you get out the camera and you start taking pictures of Johnny acting like a female and then you upload it to YouTube and everybody laughs about it and the next thing you know, this dude, this kid is acting out childhood fantasies that should have been squashed.”

Harris went on to say, “Dads, the second you see your son dropping the limp wrist, you walk over there and crack that wrist. Man up. Give him a good punch. Ok? You are not going to act like that. You were made by God to be a male and you are going to be a male.”
That’s right.  You go to church, you pray to God, why not just beat your child that may or may not be gay just because he or she may not look or act like you?
Seriously, stop for a minute and think.  Unless you believe these close-minded words of intolerance in the name of God, are you surprised why people would stop going to church and just talk to God directly, as I do?
As I was reading more about some of these church leaders’ outlandish comments, someone summed it up rather well.  If these pastors were Muslim and said the same things about killing gays, we’d call them terrorists and something would be done about it.

But, I’ll stick by what I always say.  I’m glad we live in a free country where I can say what I want to say and they can say what they want.  I just wish that there were not people listening to them and encouraging them on with an “Amen”.

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on June 3, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    They are terrorists, for sure Anthony. Some people are unbelievable. It is frightening that they are aloud to preach hate like they do, but the people who say the Amen are more frightening to me.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kimberly on June 3, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I AGREE WITH YOU ANTHONY I THINK THE CHURCH SHOULD WORRY ABOUT THE PEOPLE THAT HIDE BEHIND RELIGION AND MOLEST AND ABUSE CHILDREN WHILE THE CHURCH DOES NOTHING BECAUSE THEY DONATE A LOT OF MONEY TO THEM .
    THEY SHOULD WORRY LESS ABOUT WHAT CONSENTING ADULTS DO OR WHOM THEY DECIDE TO LOVE AND MAKE A LIFE WITH ………………..I DON’T ATTEND CHURCH EITHER BECAUSE OF THE WAY “THE CHURCH OF GOD” CHOOSE TO LOOK THE OTHER WAY WHILE CHILDREN WERE BEING HARMED ,,,,,,,,,THAT IS UNTIL IT WAS THEIR OWN CHILDREN .
    AND THE PEOPLE THAT WERE SUPPOSE TO BE THE PUREST AND HOLIEST HAD THE MEANEST CHILDREN I EVER MET IN LIFE !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

