“Are You Getting Another Dog?”

Miss ABBA can never be replaced.  It’s been more than four months now since our little angel went to “puppy heaven” and we miss her like crazy.  We still talk about her daily.  “ABBA would have done this” and “ABBA would have done that”.  However, when we speak her name, we smile.

Some in my neighborhood are just now realizing that she is not walking with us (well, she is from a spiritual standpoint).  But, as you know, Miss ABBA would have been sitting out all winter long since she loved the snow and cold.

People are always asking, “are you getting another dog?” and the answer is always the same, “not anytime soon”.  That is usually followed by, “and we have two cats if you want them!”  (Sorry, Gretel!)

When my chow chow, Keshia, died in January 1998, it wasn’t until July 2000, that I got Miss ABBA.  Will we decide to get another dog in August 2014?  Who knows?  The timing might work out for that to happen since we are going to spend the next two years trying to get some traveling in.  Ray will have a milestone birthday next year and I’ll have mine the following year.  Wow, turning 40 (again)!  🙂

Gretel and I have already decided, much to Ray’s chagrin, that we want to get two goldens at the same time when we get our next dogs.  She’s already got the names picked out —  Bobo and A.J. (ABBA Junior).  I’m okay with A.J., but not Bobo.   I was thinking more of Mulder and Scully (even if they’re both girls).  Dexter would work, too — even for a girl.

However, in the meantime, we have dogs in our neighborhood that we visit.  There’s Big George and Odie (two labs, one’s a puppy and one’s a very old dog), there’s Marley (another lab), and Pre and Po, two goldens.

When we take our walks and they are out, they run out to say hello.  Pre is 4.5-years-old and Po is seven months old.

For now, we will live vicariously through other people’s dogs in our neighborhood.  And, my friend, Julie, has two goldens, Callie and Rusty, that she has brought over to see us, too.

Anthony

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Julie Callaway on June 14, 2012 at 9:15 am

    awe, this was so cute! I love the name A.J., and Scully I like too:) When you decide it’s time to add more golden love to your family, please keep in mine my Uncle Roger from New Windsor. Most of his puppies have become therapy dogs, and they are so amazing. Thanks for shaing this, it put a smile on my face:) Oh, we are due for a godlen visit soon!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by renea robison on June 14, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Anthony, you will know when the time is right to add to the family again. and no no one will EVER replace ABBA. each one is special in our hearts in their own way. just keep the memories of ABBA and you will know when it is right to open up again. God Bless you and ABBA is ALWAYS with you!!!

    Reply

  3. Julie, yes, we are due another visit and more treats. Say hi to the girls for us.

    Peeps

    Reply

  4. Renea,

    That is very true and have no worries, Miss ABBA will always be alive in our hearts. 🙂

    Take care and have a great day!

    Anthony

    Reply

  5. Posted by dogmomdiva on June 14, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Anthony, you will know when the time is right, enjoy the ‘freedom’ you have to travel and do things, we all know that as much as we love our dogs, they do tie us down..Her memory will always be there, and she will always be in your heart♥

    Reply

  6. Posted by Scott on June 14, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Nice piece Anthony and I really can relate to your comments with our loss of Molly. I’m on the same page as you. On a side note thanks for volunteering on the Human Rights Commission. We appreciate your time.

    Reply

  7. Scott,

    Thank you very much. We miss ABBA like crazy, but we cherish all the memories. My thoughts are with you and Debbie with the loss of Molly.

    I’m honored to be a part of the HRC. Thank you for having me. 🙂

    Anthony

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mikey99 on June 14, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    We weren’t going to get another dog after our airedale terrier (Abby) was put down. However, I got Lucy Lu 2 years later. I love my standard poodle and am glad I took a chance on another pup.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on June 14, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    I never did get another dog after I had to put my Lil’ guy with all the wrinkles down. Had two kitties too, just like Gretel. Where I lived before there were tons of dogs in the neighborhood, I used to show up at a house for a “pooch hug” every now & then. I absolutely love animals, but I just could never get to the place where I was ready to be mommy to more, & now due to my health I really can’t.

    My former next door neighbor had a cat named Mulder. I can’t for the life of me remember the real names of two dogs they got right before I moved, but we always called them “Beavis & Butthead”. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

