They Said What??? Carrie Underwood, 50 Cent, Oprah & Howard Stern

COUNTRY/POP SUPERSTAR CARRIE UNDERWOOD

“As a married person myself, I don’t know what it’s like to be told I can’t marry somebody I love, and want to marry.  I can’t imagine how that must feel. I definitely think we should all have the right to love, and love publicly, the people that we want to love.  Our church is gay friendly.  Above all, God wanted us to love others. It’s not about setting rules, or [saying] ‘everyone has to be like me.’ No. We’re all different. That’s what makes us special. We have to love each other and get on with each other. It’s not up to me to judge anybody.”

50 CENT

(talking to Oprah):  “I would see moments when you would discuss your feelings on the culture and everything that was wrong with the culture was what was on my CD, and I was like, ‘Oh, she doesn’t like me’.  I was saying, ‘If I can’t be your friend, at least let me be your enemy, so I co-exist.'”

OPRAH WINFREY

(TO 50 Cent):  “That’s interesting. I don’t spend a lot of time looking at people who don’t like me, but I did hear that you said something like I had white women in my audience that were as old as your grandmother. I felt that that was a pointed criticism. Did you say things about me to be provocative, or did you just not like me?”

RYAN KWANTEN

(on his “True Blood” character):  “When you look at Jason in season 1 he had a very tunnel view of the world and some would say an ignorant view.  And now, that speech he gave to Newlin was ‘Look, I accept who you are, whether it’s a vampire, whether it’s a gay man, or both. But that’s not the way this dog barks.’ That’s a huge step for Jason to change his spots… Towards the end of the season, which we are shooting now, he puts the things he has learned into practice and starts to show his true colors.”

SHOCK JOCK HOWARD STERN

(on Madonna flashing the crowd in concert in Turkey):  ““There is nothing sexual about that t**ty and that shoulder. That’s an old t**ty…I guess she thinks it’s sexy…Looks like a beanbag with a nipple, that breast.”

CNN’S PIERS MORGAN

(on Madonna flashing the crowd in concert in Turkey):  “Most embarrassing, cringe-worthy, desperate moment in the history of music?”

ACTRESS CHRISTINA APPLEGATE

(on Madonna flashing the crowd in concert in Turkey):  “Reading twitter this am and there r all these tweets about Madonna and her nipple flash. And we are shocked because…?  What I’m saying is. Its not like Sarah Palin had a nip slip, its Madonna.”

COLORADO REPUBLICAN REP. MARSHA LOOPER

(who’s son is gay and she voted against the state’s civil union bill):  “I am disappointed that we had to have a special session in the first place. I think it’s a complete lack of leadership that the bill made it through three committees and then on the last day and I oppose civil unions, but if the leadership was intent on killing the bill in the first place, it should have gone to State Affairs weeks ago instead of dragging it out like this.  I agree with the decision to kill the bill, but I am disappointed in the process.”

LADY GAGA

(referring to Madonna?):  “It sometimes makes people feel better about themselves [to], you know, put other people down or make fun of them or maybe make mockery of their work.  And that doesn’t make me feel good at all, that just makes me feel like I’m not being a good human being…I feel like if you’re a really good human being, you can try to find something beautiful in every single person, no matter what.”

A LAWYER FOR FORMER FLORIDA GOVERNOR CHARLIE CRIST

(defending his client against a man who claims Crist made sexual advances to him):  “Crist would have to be a sick son of a bitch to try to kiss Porky the Pig.”

TONY PERKINS, FAMILY RESEARCH COUNCIL, (a hate group)

“The month of June is Gay Pride Month. Now, I have not yet seen where they have declared Adultery Pride Month, I have not seen where they have declared the Drunkenness Pride Month. Here’s the issue, J.R. it’s not a matter of whether or not someone can do what they want to do with their lives, God gave Adam and Eve a choice, but that’s not what we’re talking about here.”

COMEDIAN/ACTOR RUSSELL BRAND

(at the MTV Movie Awards poking fun at Katy Perry, his ex-wife):  “The last time I hosted I did marry someone who was there, so I’m keeping my eyes open for a new wife tonight.  Fassbender!”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

