Hi, I’m Anthony. I Have an Obsessive Personality!

I confess and I’m guilty as charged.  I have an obsessive personality and I can’t help from being a planner, which some close to me (Ray and Tammy) might see as high maintenance.  With that being said, I will once again vow to try to chill out and to “stop and smell the roses”.  Actually, I’ve made it a point to do that.  Now, when I pass a rose-bush, I stop and smell the flowers.

I’ve always known this about myself.  However, last night, Ray and I moved the stove and refrigerator out of kitchen because we’re having the kitchen renovated this week, there were 18 boxes of cereal, new and partial boxes, of all varieties.   We both contributed to that collection.  It’s just funny because, in the past, Ray has prohibited me from buying salad dressings (we had about 20+, at one time) and Christmas cards (I have more than 80 boxes downstairs in storage).

The point of all of this is that I think too much and when I get something in my mind, I can’t let it go.  I guess that’s why I’m a recovering food addict and that I’m obsessed with the treadmill and walking to lose weight to get back to my desired goal of 140-145 pounds.

This brings me around to the changes that I am instituting, or attempting to, in my life.

B.R. (Before Ray), B.F. (Before Facebook), and B.B. (Before Blog), Miss ABBA and I use to lounge around on my days off after I ran errands.  We’d make lunch and dinner, go on walks, and watch movies with a bottle of champagne.  I love watching movies and, like Gretel, I can watch my favorites movies over and over, just not in the same sitting.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched “Latter Days”, “Shelter”, “Hellbent”, “Make The Yuletide Gay”, “Pretty Woman”, “Muriel’s Wedding”, “Priscilla Queen of the Desert”, “Prancer”, “Mamma Mia”, and “Longtime Companion”.

Now, I typically find myself on the treadmill or on the computer when I’m at home checking Facebook, weather conditions, what Madonna is doing and who’s talking about it, answering blog comments, etc.  While I still want to correspond with Facebook friends and my blog readers that comment, I need to find a balance in my life to flop down on the couch, pop in a movie, and “just veg out in front of the TV…. Be still like vegetables.  Lay like broccoli.”

Unfortunately, with workers in the house for the remainder of this week, I’ll have to wait until next week to attempt that.

With this being said, I admit that I love having my blog.  I love being able to pontificate about whatever I want and share it with you.  And, I appreciate you checking it out and commenting.  I love our interactions and our dialogue.

I started in the blog in early January 2012 and by March 21st, my blog was viewed 20,000 times.  It took just shy of two more months for the second 20,000 views.  And, then after a controversial post I made about the Erie School Board’s decision to ban some diversity training material, I had 1,651 views on May 23, 2012, alone and now the view count on my blog is up to 66, 415 since January 7th!  Thank you.

Since I started the blog, the most viewed entry (21,740 and rising) was posted on January 29, 2012.  I wrote about rapper 50 Cent and his Super Bowl bet of sharing the “full Monty” if his team lost.  That blog also focused on homophobic comments that he made in the past and that with those views, he had nothing that I’d want to see regardless of how sexy some see him.

With that being said, the view count on Fiddy is not because most of you keep checking it out.  It’s because that blog entry has been posted on some site(s) that get much more traffic than my Facebook page.  Other top viewed blog entries have been about Adele and body image and eating disorders, John Travolta and the accusations against him, the Erie School Board, and of course, my late and great Miss ABBA!

I hope you have a great day today and don’t overdo it in the heat.  Keep saying hello on Facebook and seeing what I have to say in my blog.  I’ll continue doing both even as I force myself away from the computer to watch more movies and TV series.  Hello “Dexter”, “True Blood”, “Six Feet Under”, “The X-Files”, and “Fringe”.

Now, being the obsessive person that I am, I have to buy something before I push away from the computer.  I’ve waited two weeks to buy our plane tickets for our December cruise and I can’t wait any longer!  Who cares if I could possibly save $5 or $10 by waiting to see if the rates fall, I’m not a patient person.  Maybe I need to work on that, too. 🙂

Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mikey99 on June 19, 2012 at 8:56 am

    You need to come up to Mt. Carroll some day. Time slows down a little here when you’re sipping on a latte, strolling our brick streets, or enjoying an unusual (but tasty) meal by Chef Troy at Bellas. Ask T.Swails sometime about my little town.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on June 19, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    I’m so there with you on the excessive planning, Anthony. Lists, diagrams…everything has to be lined up & ready to go well in advance or I am definitely on edge! And I’ve been told I’m “like a dog with a bone”, once I get hold of something I’ll worry it to death til it works out right. 🙂

    I think my big “collection” items are toiletries…I have at least 12-18 double rolls of TP on any given day, 6 or more cans of air freshener, numerous shampoo, body wash, deoderant & toothpaste. All must be lined up in the linen closet facing front, lol. My dad calls me “Monk”, from the TV show with the guy who had OCD. 🙂

    I love to stop & smell the flowers, & enjoy them in my home…but then I have to cut & arrange them JUST RIGHT…& make sure the water is fresh every day…and keep them out of drafts/direct sunlight…and try to gauge when they will wilt & do I want to get new ones…and how & where would I get those…and arrange the new ones JUST RIGHT…whew! 😉

    Reply

  3. Kathy,

    I’m also the same way with air fresheners, toilet paper, shampoo, and toothpaste. It’s so easy to pick up many at the same time and not have to worry about running out.

    You’re too funny and I’m happy to call you friend.

    Peeps

    Reply

Leave a Reply

