You Know What I’m Thinking?

I worked a crazy schedule this past week including the three morning shows (2 a.m. until noon and one of those was after working Sunday 3-10:45 p.m. and then going back into work three hours later) and now I’m ready to enjoy my two days off.

CLASSIC ROCK

However, I’m not sure how much I’ll get to enjoy them since the house will be filled with classic rock-jammin’ men working on our kitchen.

Since they started the flooring Tuesday, I realized that radio, regardless of format, is pathetic with its playlists.  Since Tuesday, I’ve heard Van Halen several times and mostly its been “Panama”.  I know they had more hits than that and I’m sure there are more classic rock bands.  Where’s Foreigner, Journey, and .38 Special?  Okay, I was wracking my brain to think of some that I liked.

I also concluded that “Panama” is classic rock’s equivalent to WLLR’s “The Nights The Lights Went Out in Georgia” or “Fancy” by Reba.  I mean Valen Halen had 15 other top 40 hits.  If I have to hear Van Halen, play “Jump” or “Why Can’t This Be Love”, too.  By the way, does John Cougar Mellencamp and REO Speedwagon count as classic rock?  Okay, on to my next random thought.

THINGS THAT CAUGHT MY EYE

I’M READY FOR FALL AND WINTER

I know this will get many (or some) of you riled up, but the older I get, the more I realize I don’t like summer and I’m growing less fond of winter.  As a kid growing up in Kentucky, an inch of snow cancelled school.  If I’m not mistaken, there was one year that we didn’t go to school the entire month of January.  Talk about a long Christmas vacation!  However, the down side was that we were still in school in June!

Until I moved to the Midwest, more specifically, Moline, I loved winter.  However, I noticed the past few winters with temperatures dropping below zero and to -27° one morning and more than 50″ of snow in several of the past winters that fall was becoming my favorite season.  This past winter, while boring from a weather point of view, was great since it gave Miss ABBA some snow to play in and mild enough temperatures for us to spend most of it outdoors playing until she went to “puppy heaven” February 3, 2012.

Now, that summer officially started Wednesday evening, I can say that it’s going to cost me more money.  Temperatures are running above average and we can’t get rain.  We started off May with more than four inches of rain in the first seven days and things were so nice and green.  Almost six inches of rain fell that month.  Since June 1, 2012, only one inch of rain has fallen and most of that, 0.60″ fell on one day.  That means 16 of the other days have been dry and my yard reflects that.  It’s turning crispy and brown.

And, while not very pretty to look at, the alternative is less attractive.  Nevertheless, I’m working to keep the entire yard from dying out!

CONCERTS

I really wish that the iWireless Center in Moline, Illinois, would book a good concert that I want to see.  I know that Big Time Rush and Carrie Underwood are coming, but I have no desire to see them.  The last concert there that I saw there was Reba last October.  Before that, I saw Reba another time, Michael Buble twice, Josh Groban, Keith Urban, and Taylor Swift.  However, I’ve hit a wall.

I still only have one concert on my calendar this year, Madonna in Las Vegas, in October.  While that’s still four months away, I’m so excited because the concert is getting rave reviews and Madonna is bearing more than just her soul!

Check out this amazing picture from Milan, Italy, last week.  Look at the people and could you just image the energy?  Awesome!

While that is the only concert that I’m going to right now, I’d love to go to Market Days in Chicago on August 12th to see Olivia Newton-John!

However, we’re in Fort Dodge, Iowa, that weekend for Ray’s 30th high school reunion.  If I was totally insane (the verdict is still out on that), I thought about driving four hours from western Iowa to the Quad Cities, drop Ray & Gretel off here, drive three hours or so to Chicago, watch Olivia, and then drive back to the Quad Cities in time to be at work Monday morning at 8 a.m.    Confession:  I’m tempted to take that Monday and be spontaneous and see ONJ!  (Is it still spontaneous if I’m pontificating about it in June?)

Confession #2:  I still have my unrequited childhood crush on Olivia!

FUTURE HIT PICK

Each time I do my random thoughts, I pick a new song that I’m excited about.  Some become hits, some don’t.  I’ve blogged about “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen (you may have heard that one), “Primadonna” by Marina and the Diamonds (now starting to get airplay), and “Timebomb” by Kylie, which is already #1 on the Australian Dance Chart (to be determined if American radio will play it.  I know the clubs will jam to it.)

My future hit today is by Chris Wallace, the former lead singer from the Chicago band, The White Tie Affair.  I saw the band at Market Days in August 2010 and I loved their energy.  I was standing right at the stage since most people were still drinking frozen alcoholic slushies at Roscoe’s.  (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  I had my share of them, too, before the concert!)

You might remember their 2008 radio hit, “Candle (Sick and Tired).”  The White Tie Affair has broken up now and this is Chris Wallace’s first solo release and the lead single from his new album coming out this summer.  Red Hot Brian Scott, are you reading this?  If so, add this song now!  Please. 🙂

CALORIE COUNTING IS IN JEOPARDY NOW!

As you know, Ray & I have been really good with our healthy eating and exercise regime and have both lost more than 17 pounds (Ray is at 22 pounds!).

We’ve cut back on wine drinking and we’re even limiting ourself to one drink a night.  Calories!  Calories!  Calories!

However, I’m eagerly anticipating the new donut-flavored vodka that comes out July 1, 2012.

In our wine cooler, we have three different flavors of ChocoVine  (a combination of fine red wine and Dutch chocolate):  original, raspberry, and expresso.  But, it doesn’t compare to a new treasure I found yesterday while grocery shopping at Hy-Vee.  For just $9.99 a bottle, I discovered Chocolatier.  It’s a “premium wine specialty” that comes in two flavors:  Chocolate Turtle and Chocolate Covered Cherry.

After a dinner of healthy grilled chicken and salad and several walks in the neighborhood, we broke the seals on the bottles and sampled them.  To Die For!  Both were absolutely incredible and we decided that while it would be recommended to sip them, both would be amazing as a topping for ice cream.  Damn you, Hy-Vee! 🙂

On that note, have a great day.  I have to get on the treadmill to work off just thinking about those wines.

Peeps

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wanda Otts McCraw on June 21, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Awww,, Anthony I’m with U too on the weather the older I get the more I depise the cold. Like U I was raised in the south and here. One of these days I will go where it’s not so hot or cold…my wishful thinking. U only live once go for it…..sometimes it sucks counting calories…but seems like the older the harder it is to take off. I’m there too. I know it’s gonna be rough this winter without Ms. Abba but I know she is look’n down and smiling saying Thanks Dad…..I really enjoy your blogs….U make alot of us our day for sure…Enjoy your days off with all the racket going on but in the long run…look how it turns out:) Have a good day my friend.

    Reply

  2. […] You Know What I’m Thinking? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

