“Peeps’ Friday ’80s Flashbacks”‏

Happy Friday to you.  I hope you have an incredible weekend.  I’ll do my part to ensure that happens with hopefully nice weather and three of my favorite songs from the ’80s.

“Only in My Dreams”  — Debbie Gibson

Debbie Gibson, in 1988, became and she remains the youngest female to write, record, and perform a #1 song with “Foolish Beat”.  She was 17-years-old.

Gibson had a total of 9 Top 40 hits on the Billboard Hot 100.  Five of those went to the top ten and two reached the top of the charts, the previously mentioned “Foolish Beat” and “Lost in Your Eyes” in 1989.

However, it was her first hit that is my still one of favorites today.  “Only in My Dreams” reached #4 in 1987.

“Into The Groove”  —  Madonna

“And, you can dance,  for inspiration”.

That line begins one of the biggest hits of Madonna’s career that never hit the Billboard Hot 100.

Since the song was the “B-side”, or flip side, of the single, “Angel” in 1985, it didn’t qualify to chart of the Hot 100!  That means you heard it all over the radio, but since it wasn’t the song being shopped to radio, you wouldn’t find it on the list of the 100 biggest hits of the week.

However, it did reach #1 on the Billboard Dance charts and Billboard magazine named it the “Dance Single of the Decade” for the 1980s!

“Only when I’m dancing can I feel this free
At night I lock the doors, where no one else can see
I’m tired of dancing here all by myself
Tonight I wanna dance with someone else”

“True Colors” — Cyndi Lauper

The world was introduced to the quirkiness of New Yorker Cyndi Lauper in the summer of 1983 when the first release from “She’s So Unusual”, “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”, reached #3.

That was the beginning of a career that would give Lauper 11 Top 40 hits on the Hot 100 with two solo #1 songs, “Time After Time” in 1984 and “True Colors” in 1986.  Lauper is also credited with a #1 song, “We Are The World”, as part of USA For Africa.

Most people still know Cyndi Lauper today as the girl wanting to have fun, but my favorite is the endearing “True Colors”, the title track and first single from her second album in 1986.

Have a great weekend.

Peeps

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by katie hughes harden on June 22, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I LOVED JImmy JImmy off Madonna’s True Blue! I wore several copies (tapes) of that album! Need to find it on CD i think! And i so wanted to be Debbie Gibson! I remember BEGGING my mom to find a mall she was perfomring at and take me! Never happened! Thanks for the memories Anthony! 😉

    Reply

  2. Katie,

    I always love Debbie Gibson and I got to see Tiffany a couple of years ago at Pride in Chicago. She sounded good.

    Take care and enjoy “Electric Youth”.

    Peeps

    Reply

  3. Some great ladies and tunes, Anthony..Have a great weekend! PS It’s HOT and DRY here..is it fall yet??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

