I’m Thinking About These Things Today (And You May Agree or Disagree)

When I’m writing a blog entry, I usually focus on one thing.  However, ever so often, I let my mind wander and I cover just about anything that I’m thinking about.  Today is one of those days.  It’s a day when I want to get things off my chest  — to free my mind of random thoughts and clutter.

WORK & SENIORITY

Sunday night I made a comment on Facebook that I was excited that for the first time in seven years in the Quad Cities, I didn’t have to go out to the John Deere Classic to do weather “live” from the course.  My only appearances this year would be to attend a couple of parties with Ray.  And, a Facebook friend responded, “see what seniority does for you ? !!! lol”.  That got me to thinking about my career again.

As I stated before in a blog entry on April 22, 2012, called “Dreams, They Can Come True”, I’ve come full circle at WQAD.  Maybe I am the second most senior member of the weather team, but it has nothing to do with seniority.  This Thanksgiving marks my seventh year at the station, but I’m right back when I started from — on weekends and filling in for the others when they take time off.

I have never had any desire to be “chief meteorologist”.  That is just an empty title and I like being part of a team.  However, after working weekends, evenings, mornings, and now weekends, again, I would love to be back on the morning show.  While the hours were crazy (2 a.m. until noon) and not getting any sleep were both part of the routine, it was a routine that I don’t have now.  Oh well.  All I can say is that with my schedule, seniority has nothing to do with it.  But, I’m very grateful that I have a job and I’m doing what I’ve always wanted to do.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/dreams-they-can-come-true/

THERE AREN’T TOO MANY HITLERS

While I was never a fan of our last president mainly because I was opposed to the United States fighting a war in Iraq, I never considered calling President George W. Bush, “Hitler”.  As much as I disliked former presidential wannabes Rick Santorum, Michele Bachmann, and womanizer Newt Gingrich, (and I don’t like Mitt Romney), for their hatred toward gays and marriage equality, I would call them many things, but not Hitler.  So, I was appalled when has-been country music singer Hank Williams, Jr. referred to President Obama as “Hitler”.  Think about this before calling someone Hitler.

COUNTRY MUSIC ALLY CARRIE UNDERWOOD

WHY NOW?  WHY EVER?

As you know, I love movies and I have some favorites on television.  Hi, “Dexter”!

Hollywood has a lack of creativity these days by remaking old movies and television shows and calling them new.  It’s one thing if it’s a fresh reboot of something old, like “21 Jump Street”.  However, I just saw the trailer for Lifetime’s remake of “Steel Magnolias”, the 1989 blockbuster starring Sally Field, Dolly Parton, Shirley MacLaine, Daryl Hannah, Olympia Dukakis, and of course, Julia Roberts, that made about $96 million.

While I love Queen Latifah, Phylicia Rashad, and Alfre Woodard, I cringed for two minutes as I watched the boring retread of a trailer.  Throwing a line in about Beyonce doesn’t make it fresh.

When I first heard about the remake featuring an all-black or mostly African-American cast, I was excited to see what it was about.  After wasting that two minutes of my life that I won’t get back, I can sum it up with a line from Clairee Belcher (Dukakis):  “Well, you know what they say: if you don’t have anything nice to say about anybody, come sit by me!”

Lifetime hasn’t announced the broadcast date for the movie rehash.

THIS (MOSTLY) AFRICAN-AMERICAN CAST HAS IT RIGHT

“Soul Food” is still my all-time favorite movie featuring a mostly African-American ensemble.  See what you’ve made me do, Lifetime?  I’m thinking black and white now and we know life isn’t that way!  Stick to Tori Spelling movies.

Anyway, American Idol contestant and Broadway performer, Todrick Hall put together this sassy parody of “Beauty and the Beast”, (one of my favorites), that is hilarious.  I guess Belle wants more than her “provincial life”.

DIETING IS GOING WELL

After eating rather healthily and working out over the past couple of months, Ray and I are losing weight.  He’s down 30 pounds and I’ve lost about 20.  But, I think about food all the time and not just the salads that I eat a lot of!  This was posted on my foodie friend, Monika Sudakov’s Facebook page the other day and it was rather enlightening.

So, I took her advice last night and I sautéed zucchini, yellow squash, onions, fresh basil, some fresh corn, seasoning, and a splash of olive oil and it was a great addition to my meal of four ounces of pork and my salad.

VEGGIES GOOD, THIS NOT SO MUCH…

….but it looks great even at more than 1,300 calories for a large.  It’s the new Dairy Queen “Chocolate Candy Shop” Blizzard — assorted mini chocolates (filled with hazelnut crème, fudge and caramel) blended with dark, decadent cocoa fudge and creamy vanilla soft serve.

I KNOW YOU HAVEN’T HEARD THIS

When I do my random blogs, I usually pick a song that is up and coming or one that most American haven’t heard yet.  I’ve picked Marina & The Diamonds, “Primadonna”, that is now getting airplay and the CD comes out today; “Timbomb” by Kylie Minogue, which moved to #4 this week on the Billboard Dance Chart; and last time, it was Chris Wallace (formerly with The White Tie Affair) with “Remember When (Push Rewind)”.

Today, I’m flashing back to one of my favorite Roscoe’s songs.

In 2002, Laura Pausini was already a huge star in her native country, Italy.  She had sold more than 16.5 million albums worldwide, had six top ten hits (now, at 20), and was ready to conquer the United States.  With her debut album, “From the Inside”, and the first single, “Surrender”, her record label wanted a killer remix to introduce her to the clubs in America.  It worked!  The song reached #1 on the Billboard Dance chart, but her crossover never really happened here.  But, the song is phenomenal and I want to introduce it to you, even if it’s ten years old.

GUNS DON’T KILL, PEOPLE DO

It’s been 18 months (January 2011) since the shooting spree in Tucson, Arizona, that lasted 15 seconds with 31 fired bullets and left six people dead and 13 others, including Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, injured.  Those killed were  Christina Green (age 9); Gabe Zimmerman (30); John Roll (63); Dorothy Morris (76); Dorwan Stoddard (76); and Phyllis Schneck (79).

I support people being able to own guns to protect themselves.  However, no one, except for the military or law enforcement, should have access to weapons like the Glock used in that Tucson tragedy that can fire so many bullets.  With this shooting and similar ones at Virginia Tech (33 dead and 23 injured) and Columbine (15 dead and 21 injured), what more do I need to say?

What about hunters?  They need guns to hunt.  New York City mayor Michael Bloomberg summed it up with this, “Guns kill people.  I’m not opposed to the Second Amendment.  I’m not opposed to hunters.  I don’t understand why we have to sell magazines with 33 bullets.  If it takes you 33 bullets to kill a deer, you’re not a sportsman.  And armor-piercing bullets — the last time I saw a deer with a bulletproof vest was a long time ago.”

Would the forefathers that wrote the amendments to the Constitution have the same logic about the right to bear arms today and offer the same freedoms?

Those are the things I’m thinking about today.  Feel free to agree or disagree with me.  Dialogue is always good.

Peeps

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dorothy DeMay on July 10, 2012 at 10:06 am

    “Soul Food” is my husband’s favorite movie. We own it, we watch it everytime it is on television, cut or uncut. I don’t think I will be watching the remake of Steel Magnolias, it saddens me when Hollywood needs to take a classic film and copy it. It cheapens the original or itself for the creativity of those before.

    I am in total agreement with the right to bear arms, but there is a limit to the types of guns the everyday citizen should own.

    I believe our forefathers would still be accepting of the constitution they wrote. They would be standing up for it, but putting limitations to the access of the types of guns. Military and Law Enforcement should be the only ones with that many rounds, and then that is for self defense, not to go out and deliberately kill someone or culture.

    I enjoyed your post, Anthony!

    Reply

  2. Doe:

    Thank you for reading and enjoying my blog! And, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    As you can tell, my mind runs all the time. 🙂

    Have a great day!

    AP

    Reply

  3. Posted by Janet Robinson on July 10, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    always enjoy your posts Have a good day! You are a lot of days the highlight of my day! Thanks Anthony! You are an inspiration! You are down to earth and real! You have made my day again! Good luck on the weather scene! I know from example seniority means nothing.

    Reply

  4. Janet,

    That is a very sweet thing to say. I’m just me and I appreciate being myself and making other’s happy. What you see is what you get with me.

    Take care of yourself, my friend.

    AP

    Reply

  5. […] I’m Thinking About These Things Today (And You May Agree or Disagree) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

