They Said What??? — Jane Pitt, Steven Tyler, Kelly Clarkson, & Michael Phelps

JOHN DELANEY, CONSERVATIVE FORMER JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA MAYOR

“I pray and read the Bible daily. I’m a rock-solid, loyal Republican…  I am with Ronald Reagan’s ideological tutor, Sen. Barry Goldwater regarding homosexuality: Live and let live…. Let who among you without sin cast the first stone.”

JANE PITT, MOTHER OF ACTOR BRAD PITT

“Any Christian who does not vote or writes in a name is casting a vote for Romney’s opponent, Barack Hussein Obama — a man who sat in Jeremiah Wright’s church for years, did not hold a public ceremony to mark the National Day of Prayer, and is a liberal who supports the killing of unborn babies and same-sex marriage.”

DOUG PITT, BROTHER OF ACTOR BRAD PITT

(about his mother’s comments):  “Moms and dads and kids agree to disagree all over the world so why would our family be any different.  There can be healthy discussion when people disagree with you and I think there should be. The bad thing is when it turns to venom and negativity, and we don’t have that in our family. It’s open discussion, we can learn from each other. If anything, it solidifies your point or maybe you learn something.”

“AMERICAN IDOL” JUDGE & AEROSMITH LEAD SINGER STEVEN TYLER

“”After some long, hard thoughts, I’ve decided it’s time for me to let go of my mistress ‘American Idol’ before she boils my rabbit.  I strayed from my first love, Aerosmith, and I’m back. … The next few years are going to be dedicated to kicking some serious ass.”

SINGER KELLY CLARKSON

“I’m from a small town, so, like, everyone’s married with children or about to have children. So it’s a little hard when you go home and people are like- and that’s why people think I’m gay- because they’re like, ‘Why aren’t you married?’ And I’m like, ‘It doesn’t happen for everyone right off the bat.”

GEESPIN, ASSISTANT PROGRAM DIRECTOR AT NEW YORK’S HIP-HOP STATION POWER 105.1

(on hip-hop artist Frank Ocean coming out):  “Hip-hop culture is generally perceived as more alpha-male, aggressive, macho thing — and that’s true — but America is changing.  We have the first president to openly support gay marriage, and that [trickles down] into hip-hop.”

RAPPER MURE

(on his new video that features his character kissing another man before ending in a murder-suicide to call attention to homophobia):  “”With this one I wanted to challenge the listener to ask themselves: Is the love shared by two people of the same gender, really that different than the love I have for my partner of the opposite sex?  And finally, I just felt it was crucial for some of us in the hip hop community to speak up on the issues of teen suicide, bullying, and the overall anti-homosexual sentiment that exist within hip hop culture. I felt so strongly about these issues and this song that I had to do a video that would command some attention, even if it makes some viewers uncomfortable. Even if it came at the cost of my own comfort.”

OLYMPIC GOLD MEDALIST SWIMMER MICHAEL PHELPS

“”It was weird going from the highest of the high, the biggest point of your life – winning eight gold medals – and then saying, ‘All right, where do I go from here?’ I wasn’t motivated. I did nothing, literally nothing, for a long time. I gained 25 pounds… A friend of mine and I were playing football on the beach in Miami and somebody got a picture of us… (My friend said) ‘Bro, you gotta start working out, man. You are fat.'”

POP SUPERSTAR LADY GAGA

“Let’s just say I feel, I feel that when I wrote Born This Way, I demonstrated a sense of maturity.  And I feel that, on the next album, there’s a lack of maturity, it’s a tremendous lack of maturity or sense of responsibility.”

THE “BALTIMORE SUN” newspaper

(endorsing marriage equality:  “We think they should be, if for no other reason than that it’s important for Maryland to be a welcoming place for families of all kinds. The only reason the state is involved in marriage at all is that strong marriages make strong families, and strong families make strong communities. That’s true whether the couples involved are gay or straight. The Episcopal Church has recognized this fact; it’s not the first denomination to do so, nor will it be the last. We hope that this November, Maryland voters will come to the same conclusion and vote to support marriage for all.”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

