“F**k It” or “F—-t” Should Not Be in the Vocabulary of a 3-Year-Old

UPDATE:  Bristol Palin and the producers of her television show now claim that while the child used an F-word, it wasn’t the anti-gay slur F-word.  Based on what I’ve seen (and until I see the unedited version), I’ll stick to the original story and call what they are doing “damage control”.  After all, I’m probably one of those “lefty” bloggers that Palin attacks in her explanation of her son’s outburst.  Regardless of whichever f-word he used, it’s still inappropriate and not funny.

Anthony

ORIGINAL BLOG:  Tuesday, July 24, 2012, 7:32 a.m.

Children have such innocence, but those kids can say the darndest things and when that happens, parents and people around usually smile, smirk, or gasp depending on who’s around at the time.  Many times, it’s the parents that react in horror especially if the child says something that his parents wouldn’t want someone else to know.

I find it especially appalling when the child is only 3-years-old and he screams at his mother and his aunt, “go away, you faggot! I don’t like you.”

That is not a word that kids learn from Disney, Nickelodeon, or from other kid shows.  That is a word that comes from his environment.  That is a word that this kid must hear on a regular basis and this is the reaction of that said child when he uttered that hateful word.

Charming, isn’t it?  Before I even go off on a rant, I will say that there is hope for this child!  Today’s youth is much more tolerant and more accepting than their parents and their grandparents.  Typically, today, you don’t hear that offensive homophobic slur or the “n-word” that I grew up hearing in the 1970s and that my parents heard in the 1950s.

By the way, this isn’t just your typical 3-year-old child, it’s Tripp Johnston, the son of unwed teenage mother Bristol Palin (who’s now 21), the daughter of vice-presidential wannabe and failed Alaskan Governor Sarah Palin.

It was during the filming of Lifetime’s reality series “Bristol Palin:  Life’s a Tripp” when the child got mad because his mother, Bristol, and his 17-year-old aunt, Willow, would not let him go to the swimming pool and uttered that disgusting word.

The first reaction from the immature grown-ups was laughter and disbelief.  But, moments later, even the disbelief turned into laughter.  That’s really class act parenting, but then again, I guess the apple don’t fall far from the tree even in Alaska.

At least, Bristol admits, “I’m doing a terrible job disciplining Tripp”, which is an understatement!

The bottom line is that a 3-year-old should not know the word “f—-t” anyway.  And, if he or she did say it out loud, that child should not have gotten a time out, that child should have his or her ass spanked and I don’t care who you are.

But, then again, what can you expect when you have a former teenage mother who’s now just old enough to drink and a teenager taking care of this child.  And, that teenager, Willow, has had her own problems and controversies using the gay slur “f-word”.

It was less than two years ago that, then 16-year-old, Willow Palin got mad at someone criticizing her mother’s reality show and had this offensive Facebook exchange:

At the time, a family friend of the Palins told TMZ that “Willow normally doesn’t use this type of language.”

I guess semantics come into play here.  “Normally” she doesn’t use it.  However, someone in the Palin world uses it and uses it regularly enough for 3-year-old Tripp to say it in anger and, like his mother and aunt, know enough to think that it’s funny.

It’s not funny.  It’s disgusting coming from teenagers and adults.  It’s even more pathetic coming from a little boy and watching the grown-ups around him laugh and encourage the behavior.

As I said earlier, I have hope for the little boy.  I hope he’s brighter than his mother, his aunt, and his grandparents.  Honestly, I’m not saying that because they are the Palins.  I’m saying that because it shows their ignorance and hatred.

Who would ever have thought that Tripp’s dad, the former “Playgirl” centerfold, author, and Bristol’s ex-fiance, Levi Johnston, might be considered a better parent or influence on this little boy?

I’ve never been a fan of Bristol Palin’s and I had a beef with her back in May when the never married single mom weighed in on marriage equality:

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/marriage-expert-bristol-palin-weighs-in-on-marriage-equality/

Lifetime, cancel this show and send the Palin family back to Alaska.  Let us try to live our lives without you giving these offensive people a platform to spew their hatred.

Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. Becky,

    I appreciate you reading my blog and responding. I know we all have opinions about things and I’m glad we can express them, whether we agree or disagree.

    Clearly, we have different approaches to child rearing. Some parents spank and some parents don’t. I know that I my share of them them as a child and while I was not pleased at the time, it made me a better person.

    I can tell you this. While I never spewed the f-word like Tripp did, as a kid I called a woman the b-word. And, let me tell you, I never called another woman or a gay man that b-word again…. until I became an adult.

    Thank you again for your input.

    AP

    Reply

  2. Posted by Athena Gilbraith on July 24, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Yes, Anthony. This child should be spanked. The proper way for this type of discipline is to make sure the child knows what they did wrong obviously, and then follow through with said discipline. This is what is wrong with our society! People are so afraid anymore of giving a child a good spanking that we just “excuse” the horrific behavior and let it keep happening! Children like that, whose parents do NOT spank them turn into monsters who shoot people in theaters! This is true! If you don’t have the guts to spank your kid and give them proper discipline, you have no business being a parent! Stop making excuses for bad behavior- for children and for adults! The child can most definitely be blamed! It came out of his mouth! Not making children responsible for what they say and do is just like saying the man who shot all of the innocent people in Aurora cannot be blamed for HIS actions! Come on people! Start behaving like adults, spank your children when they display bad behavior, and be better for crying out loud!

    P.S. Unfortunately the ‘N’ word is still going strong! Being biracial, I’ve heard it more recently than back in the 80’s growing up. Unfortunately it might be a President thing, but it’s pretty freaking scary that any hateful word, being “F” or ‘N’ is still being said in 2012. Again, be better, people.

    Reply

    • Athena,

      Thank you for your insight and for enlightening me on the current use of the n-word. I know it’s still used in a lot of today’s hip-hop music. I guess I, incorrectly, assumed that just like gay people using the f-word, it’s more acceptable for them to say it, and not anyone else.

      I agree that I wish that we all could stop using both words.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

