North American Debut Goes to the Dogs

Three weeks from tonight, on August 28, 2012, Madonna’s hugely successful “MDNA Tour” will be making its North American debut in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and it has already gone to the dogs and that’s a great thing!

With just three European dates left, the concert has already grossed almost $80 million in just the first 22 shows.

Madonna will play 45 North American dates through late November including multiple shows in New York City, Toronto, Chicago, Washington D.C., Vancouver, Seattle, San Jose, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Dallas, Houston, Saint Paul, Miami, and Mexico City.

Ray & I will be seeing the tour in Las Vegas on my birthday, October 13th.  This will be his first Madonna show and my third.  We received our official “MDNA Tour” laminate in the mail yesterday!

Two very generous and special Madonna fans in the Northeast have forked over a lot of money to see the U.S. kick-off show and, at the same time, help the Main Line Animal Rescue (MLAR) in Chester County, Pennsylvania.

Nick Adams and Dee Silvers, two longtime supporters of the animal shelter, bid $100,000 for four tickets to the Material Girl’s Philadelphia show.

The tickets were part of a special auction donated by jewelry designer Susan Rosen to help the Rescue with the rehabilitation of dogs rescued from Pennsylvania’s puppy mills and MLAR’s anti-puppy mill campaign.  The money raised will also assist with campaigns that focus on the USDA’s failure to protect dogs in many federally licensed breeding kennels.

The problem with puppy mills and the efforts that MLAR have made were featured on Oprah back in 2008.

The $100,000 price tag for the Madonna show tickets is believed to be the most ever paid for concert tickets.  Silvers responded, “To me Madonna has always symbolized freedom and strength.  But when I think of puppy mill dogs, I think of confinement, and dogs weak from over-breeding and lack of veterinary care.”

Linda Forbes, a volunteer at MLAR, says (with a Madonna reference), “”By supporting Main Line Animal Rescue, these wonderful people have provided a ray of light to the thousands of puppy mill dogs we help every year. And that’s something to celebrate!”

As you know, Madonna uses her voice and celebrity to speak out for human rights and LGBT rights.  She did it again last week at two shows in Russia much to the chagrin of homophobic Russian leaders.

And, it’s awesome to see Madonna fans and pet lovers, like Silvers and Adams, reach out to animals that need humans to fight for their rights, their dignity, and their chance of living a happy live.

“I hear your voice, it’s like an angel sighing/I have no choice, I hear your voice/Feels like flying, I close my eyes/Oh God, I think I’m falling/
Out of the sky, I close my eyes/Heaven help me/Just like a prayer, your voice can take me there/Just like a muse to me, you are a mystery/
Just like a dream, you are not what you seem/Just like a prayer, no choice your voice can take me there”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

