Fall, I’m Ready For You & This is Why!

The nice, pleasant weather we’re enjoying now with highs in the 70s and lows in the 50s definitely has an “autumn” feel to it.  Who cares if the calendar says autumn officially begins September 22, 2012.  And, weather people call the first day of September, “meteorological fall”, but I have proof that it’s already fall! 🙂  (Editor’s Note:  I deleted the leaf I had here earlier because Ray found this beautiful tree on our walk this morning, August 19th).  Incredible!

Even my Father’s Day gift, the Vanilla-Strawberry Hydrangea is starting to look fall-ish and the outdoor poinsettias are so full and green and are ready for October to get here to burst into reds and whites.

So, as the chill settles in throughout September (yes, we will have more warm weather), visions of wearing long sleeve shirts and pajama bottoms will start dancing in my head.  That is my favorite thing to wear and for a long time, Gretel didn’t even know that I had real clothes!

As the days get shorter and the nights get longer, I’m starting to think more about leaves changing colors, lounging on the couch watching movies and my favorite television shows and concerts on DVD, smelling soups and chili simmering in the crock pot, and of course, celebrating and decorating for Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Mom (Betty) will be visiting us in mid-September and at the end of September into early October, Ray will be attending a conference in Houston, Texas, and I’m tagging along as a tourist.

The last time I was in Houston was Halloween 1992.  It was an awesome time and I returned on Election Day when President Bill Clinton took control of the White House for eight fantastic years.

Then, in October, we’re heading to Las Vegas for my birthday and Madonna!  After that, we’re home until right before Christmas when we head to New Orleans, Louisiana, for beignets at Cafe Du Monde with my friends Crystal and Ants and to check out the “Crescent City” decorated for the holidays before we head out on a four-day western Caribbean cruise with Gretel, my sister, Tammy, and Mom.

This fall, I’m also hoping to get some reading done.  Yes, a real book and not just magazines.  I’m not really excited about any new CDs coming out this fall.  However, I’m sure a couple of Christmas albums may catch my attention.

So, in my down time, here are the movies I’m looking forward to this fall.

“The Perks of Being A Wallflower” (September 14, 2012).  I also want to read the book that was published in 1992 and has more than 1.2 million copies in print.

This movie will mark Emma Watson’s move beyond the “Harry Potter” series.  It also stars the incredibly talented (and out actor) Ezra Miller from one of my favorite movies I’ve seen this year, “We Need To Talk About Kevin”.

“Looper” (September 28, 2012)

I also want to see “Looper” with hottie Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  But, I’ll likely wait for that one to hit the cheap theaters or DVD.

“The Paperboy” (October 5, 2012)

This is director Lee Daniels’ follow-up to the powerful Oscar-nominate movie, “Precious” that garnered a Best Supporting Actress Oscar for Mo’Nique and a nomination for Best Actress for Gabourey Sidibe.

“The Paperboy” stars one of my favorite actresses that I hope will be mentioned come Academy Award nomination time in 2013, Nicole Kidman.  It also stars Zac Efron, Matthew  McConaughey, and John Cusack.  The movie looks very trashy and suspenseful. 🙂

“Argo” (October 12, 2012)

While in Las Vegas celebrating my birthday, I want to go to see this thriller from director-actor Ben Affleck.  This one will definitely have his named called when the Oscar nominations are announced.  It’s about the Iranian hostage situation in late 1979 involving Americans taken from the Embassy in Tehran.

And, there are two more movies this year that I want to see, but the trailers are not out yet.  “Lincoln” in November and “Zero Dark Thirty” about the hunt for Osama Bin Laden by Oscar winning director Kathryn Bigelow right before Christmas.

Enjoy what’s left of summer and get ready to welcome in fall with me. 🙂

Anthony

P.S.  I never thought I’d ever say that I wanted to see a Will Farrell movie, but when “The Campaign” goes to the cheap theater, I want to see it.  Farrell and Zach Galifianakis (“The Hangover” movies) look so silly and funny in this movie and it mocks the political world.  Perfect timing for November!

P.S. 2.  Additionally, when it comes to DVD, I want to see “Beasts of the Southern Wild”.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Happy Fall-ish days to you too, Anthony! Fall has always been my favorite season, I just love everything about it! The cool air, bonfires with friends, hot cider, Halloween, the smell of wet leaves in the air after rain……it’s just glorious, and I’m excited about it. Moreso because this summer has been soooo hot, and I haven’t had much chance to get my 2 year old outside to play. Here’s hoping we have a long and lovely Fall before being launched into the misery of winter. lol
    I’ve never been to the Quarter during the holidays, I bet its lovely. But beignets and a cafe au lait sound wonderful any time of year. Sounds like you’ve got a wonderful next several months planned! Hope you have a fabulous time!

    Reply

  2. Jenna,

    Thank you. Happy Fall-ish days to you, too.

    As a kid growing up in Kentucky, winter was always my favorite. We had much less of the cold and snow that we have in the Midwest.

    But, I’m began to realize the last two winters outdoors with Miss ABBA, the late golden, that winter was no longer my favorite. I still love snow, lots of it, and some cold, but not the bitter cold.

    Fall is now my favorite!

    I’ll have an extra bite of a beignet just for you in December. I’ve Googled pictures and NOLA looks awesome at Christmas.

    Take care and thank you for checking out my blog and responding. Here’s to a very long, enjoyable fall, my friend.

    AP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

