Oh No, He’s Thinking About Random Things

Most of my blogs are specific to one topic.  However, every once in a while, I like to do what I call a “this and that” blog where I write a little bit about whatever I’m thinking about it.  So, continue reading and enjoy.

HEALTHY EATING

I’ve talked quite a bit in the past about the success that Ray and I are having with losing the weight we’ve gained over the past three years.  He lost about 30 pounds and I dropped 25.

When we went to his high school reunion two weekends ago, we ate whatever we wanted and didn’t count calories.  And, once we returned home, we haven’t been too diligent about eating healthy and it shows.  Since dropping back to 142.6 pounds, I’ve gained six of the pounds back and I lack motivation to lose them.

However, since Thursday was Miss Gretel’s first day back at school (look at how cute she is),

we took her to lunch at my favorite place, Osaka Buffet, in Moline.

I pigged out and since Ray’s birthday is this weekend, we got him a cheesecake.

After that, I’m determined to get back on track , drop those pounds, and maintain a weight of 145.  I’ve indulged long enough and now it’s time to work it off.  Bad boy!

THOUGHT PROVOKING?

TOO SOON TO THINK ABOUT FALL?

With the recent cool weather, I’m really been thinking about and blogging about fall.  I can’t wait to wear long sleeve pullover shirts and pajama bottoms, curl up on the couch as the days get shorter and the nights get longer, make soups and chili as it turns cooler, and watch the trees and peppers turn colors.

Here’s a picture from last fall with Miss ABBA enjoying her rawhide in a neighborhood yard decked out for Halloween.

NUCLEAR POWER

The world’s population is growing at an alarming rate and the same is happening in the United States.  The population in the U.S. is roughly 314 million.  That’s up from 281 million in 2000 — up about 11% in just 12 years.  With the price of coal, gas, and oil continuing to rise, I hope that we seriously starting considering alternative sources before it’s too late.

I stand behind nuclear energy, as does the president and about 70% of Americans polled, and I would not be opposed to living near a new reactor.  The United States has more nuclear reactors in operation than any other country in the world.  In March 2011, “Time” magazine stated that there were 104 in the United States and they supply 20% of the power in the country.  Several of those are located in Iowa and Illinois.  Yet, the last new reactor went into service in the U.S. in 1996.

Yes, we’ve heard the horror stories about Three Mile Island in Pennsylvania in 1979, which was the worst accident in U.S. commercial nuclear power plant history.

And, then in March 2011, the 9.0 earthquake and the tsunami that followed in Japan destroyed the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant.  According to a June 2012 Standford University study, the radiation released could cause 130 deaths from cancer (the lower boundary for the estimate being 15 and the upper boundary at 1100) and 180 cancer cases (the lower boundary being 24 and the upper boundary 1800), mostly in Japan. Radiation exposure to workers at the plant was projected to result in 2 to 12 deaths.

I know that we can build nuclear power plants that would be safe from tsunamis in the United States, but the biggest problem will be the cost.  That is followed by the fear of nuclear plants.

NEW MUSIC THAT I’M INTO NOW

22-year-old German DJ/producer Zedd (Anton Zaslavski), who has opened for Lady Gaga on her “Born This Way Ball” Tour and remixed her hits, “Born This Way” and “Marry The Night” is now climbing the American charts with his first hit featuring singer Matthew Koma,  “Spectrum”.

“Spectrum” just hit #1 on the Billboard Dance chart this week holding Madonna’s “Turn Up The Radio” at #2.  Madonna should top that chart next week and that will be her 43rd #1 dance hit, extending her lead over Janet Jackson in second place with 19.

Check out this amazing remix with Far East Movement, who scored at #1 hit in 2010 with “Like A G6”.

LOVE IS IN THE AIR

Patrick Abner (left) and MSNBC anchor Thomas Roberts are getting married this fall.  The couple met 12 years ago on September 30th.  I hope they choose that date to get married because I know another couple that will be celebrating their one year marriage anniversary on that same date! 🙂

I’M READY FOR MY VACATION SEASON TO START

It’s no secret that I love being a meteorologist, but I’m not shy about loving my time off, too.  Mom (Betty) is coming in a few weeks, we’re heading to Houston at the end of September, and then to Las Vegas to see Madonna for my birthday in October.

I’m excited about a few movies this fall and the first three I want to see are “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” (limited release — September 21, 2012), “The Paperboy” (limited release — October 5, 2012), and while in Vegas, I want to see “Argo”  on opening day (October 12, 2012).

RECOMMENDED ALBUM

I bought a new album, “Hello” by Karmin, that I love.

It only has seven songs, but Amy Heidemann and Nick Noonan are so hip and fun that the album will take you by surprise.

They’ve already scored a #1 dance hit, “Brokenhearted”, that reached #16 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Their new release, “Hello” is already racing up the top 40 and dance charts.

Both Amy and Nick have great voices and the music is fun.  However, what will really surprise you is that Nebraska-born Amy can rap with the best of them.  Watch out Nicki Minaj!

GRADE:  A-

AND, THE FINALE

Since I’ve ruffled a few feathers in the recent past!

Peace out!

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. […] Oh No, He’s Thinking About Random Things […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

