They Said What??? — Hugh Hefner, Hank Williams Jr., Rihanna, Crazy Politicians, & Madonna

HUGH HEFNER, “PLAYBOY” FOUNDER

“The fight for gay marriage is, in reality, a fight for all our rights. Without it, we will turn back the sexual revolution and return to an earlier, puritanical time.  Today, in every instance of sexual rights falling under attack, you’ll find legislation forced into place by people who practice discrimination disguised as religious freedom. Their goal is to dehumanize everyone’s sexuality and reduce us to using sex for the sole purpose of perpetuating our species. To that end, they will criminalize your entire sex life.”

ALAN CHAMBERS, LEADER OF “EXODUS INTERNATIONAL”, AN “EX-GAY” CHRISTIAN ORGANIZATION

“Do I think there are people living a gay Christian life who are going to be in heaven with me?  I do. If they have a relationship with God.”

MORE CHAMBERS

“For someone to put out a shingle and say, ‘I can cure homosexuality’ — that to me is as bizarre as someone saying they can cure any other common temptation or struggle that anyone faces on Planet Earth.”

HAS-BEEN COUNTRY SINGER HANK WILLIAMS JR.

(at the Iowa State Fair):  “We’ve got a Muslim President who hates farming, hates the military, hates the U.S. and we hate him!”

MISSOURI REPUBLICAN REPRESENTATIVE TODD AKIN

“First of all, from what I understand from doctors, (pregnancy from rape) is really rare.  If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down.  But let’s assume that maybe that didn’t work or something. I think there should be some punishment, but the punishment ought to be on the rapist and not attacking the child.”

DEE SNIDER OF THE ROCK BAND TWISTED SISTER

“I emphatically denounce Paul Ryan’s use of my band Twisted Sister’s song, ‘We’re Not Gonna Take It,’ in any capacity.  There is almost nothing he stands for that I agree with except the use of the [workout program] P90X.”

RIHANNA

(to Oprah about her 2009 attack at the hands of ex-boyfriend/singer Chris Brown):  “No one could feel that more than me. Nobody felt what I felt. It happened to me in front of the world.  I lost my best friend. Everything I knew switched. Switched in a night. I couldn’t control that.”

ACTOR JEREMY RENNER (“THE HURT LOCKER” & “THE BOURNE LEGACY”)

“‘I talked to some other friends of mine about the rumours when I first heard them. I said, ‘Have you seen this?’ and they were like, ‘Dude, do you know how long that’s been online?’ Look up any actor and it’s the second thing that comes up. So I have gay rumours – guess I’ve made it!'”

ELTON JOHN

“Being the child of someone famous is a huge ball and chain around your ankles.  It’s going to be very difficult.  At school other children will say, ‘You don’t have a mummy,’ we’ve come a long way, but there’s still homophobia and will be until a new generation of parents don’t instil it in their children.”

MADONNA

(before singing “Masterpiece”, the song that won a Golden Globe Award this year over Elton John’s “Hello Hello”):  “I’d like to dedicate this next song to a Mr. Elton John.  I know he’s a big fan of it.  And I know he’s a big fan of mine. And you know? I forgive him. Gotta start somewhere.”

ED KOCH, FORMER NEW YORK CITY MAYOR

“”The Western cultural elite is rallying to the defense of the disrupters in the cathedral…”I would assume that many Pussy Riot supporters would take a different position, and rightly so, if here in the U.S. a black church were invaded and three men or women engaged in comparable conduct insulting holy places within the church and the pastor. I recall when I was Mayor in 1989 and the AIDS activist group Act Up, unjustifiably angry with John Cardinal O’Connor, invaded St. Patrick’s Cathedral and interrupted the Mass, throwing the Communion wafers – which for Catholics are the actual Body of Christ – to the floor.”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

