“Comfort Food” & Friends Welcome In Cooler Weather

I love food.  I love cooking and eating, but I don’t like the cleaning.  Now that it appears that the heat for the summer has broken and we’re heading into cooler temperatures with fall, my mind-set has moved into “comfort food”.

The weekend kicked off Friday with a rainy day (0.89″) and a high of only 77° and lows dropping into the 50s.  That is perfect crock pot, soup, or chili weather.  So, for our dinner guests Friday night, we decided to make a hearty “comfort food” meal.

Our friends, Megan and Wayne drove up from Monmouth, Illinois.

And, Cindy and JP made a road trip from Kewanee, Illinois.

It was a great evening getting to know each other.  I’ve talked to both ladies quite a bit over the past year.  I’ve seen Megan and Wayne at several events and this summer, Cindy brought me the best homegrown asparagus and eggs from her farm, but this was the first time that we had a sit down dinner.  It started with an appetizer of buffalo chicken dip and wine (Cindy had a fruity cocktail.)

After appetizers and social hour (and a half), we started with Ray’s special leafy salad with cranberries, feta cheese, and baked pine nuts.

For dinner, Ray make two different meat loaves:  a classic meatloaf and a mushroom stuffed meatloaf.  That is the one I tried and we’ll be having leftovers today with my sister, Tammy.

To go along with the meatloaf, I made a “Harvest Vegetable Bake”.

And, Ray made his family’s recipe for “Make-Ahead Potatoes”.

And, for dessert, I made a specialty of my favorite restaurant, Patti’s 1880s Settlement, in Grand Rivers, Kentucky.  Every time I go back home, I make it a point to stop there.  While I always order different entrees, we always order the same appetizers, a blossom fried onion and thick, beer-battered cheese sticks,, and for dessert, the Sawdust Pie (and a couple of others).  While I can’t get my Sawdust Pie to taste like Patti’s, each time I make it, it is so good (and so bad for the diet)!

While I’ll include the recipe for the Sawdust Pie and some of the other recipes, here’s the pictorial of making it.

First I mixed the crushed graham crackers, flaked coconut, sugar and chopped pecans.  Then I added seven eggs whites, poured it into the shell to bake, and once it was done, I added sliced bananas and whipped topping.  If you really wanted to go over the top, add vanilla ice cream, too. 🙂

Even after looking at the pictures, I have to go walk on the treadmill.  I even baked an extra one and froze it for when Mom (Betty) is here next weekend. 🙂

Anthony

Recipes:

Sawdust Pie:  http://www.justapinch.com/recipes/dessert/pie/pattis-sawdust-pie.html

Harvest Vegetable Bake:  http://southernfood.about.com/od/sidedishcasseroles/r/r81012a.htm

Classic Meatloaf:  http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/classic_meatloaf/

Mushroom Stuffed Meatloaf:  http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Mushroom-Stuffed-Meatloaf

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by babiedoll454 on September 9, 2012 at 9:05 am

    I want to try them all, but now that you mention chili, gosh what a great day for it. Thank you so much for sharing anthony. Glad that you and ray had a great weekend. Take care and love ya for just being you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

