Some Television Viewers Have Tempers & Will Tell You How They Feel!

Guess what?  I’m not perfect and I never claim to be.  Luckily, for me, I have people to keep me in check even if they’re afraid to use their name or address for me to respond.  You can be more abrasive that way under the guise of anonymity.

Being a public figure, even on a local level, opens you up to scrutiny.  Most people are very nice and complimentary when you meet them in person or they say nothing at all and just smile.  However, many times when we do hear from people it’s not good.

While a reporter in Lubbock, Texas, in 1997, I was covering a story about a daycare center that was closed down for health violations.  My photographer and I were standing across the street from the building and a man started walking toward us cussing and making threatening comments.  I told the photographer to keep the camera rolling and the man tried to grab the camera.  I was standing between him and the cameraman and he threw me up against the car and walked away.  Of course, the incompetent photographer wasn’t recording and needless to say, he didn’t last long.

That was the only physical altercation I’ve had in my career.  Most of the negative responses come by email, phone, or mail.  And, most involve the weather!  People take their weather very seriously and if you miss a forecast or you interrupt their television program, you’re likely going to hear about it.  I had one man email me years ago that I should be shipped off to Alaska to learn to how to forecast weather!

Regardless of the advancements in forecasting technology, meteorologists are not God and we will miss forecasts here and there.  Some forecasters do this more often than others! 🙂  People don’t seem to realize that when you have an approaching storm, a minor change in the storm’s path will greatly alter a forecast.

This happened a couple of weekends ago with the remnants of Hurricane Isaac.  Computer models were generating some really impressive rainfall numbers.

While presenting this graphic on the air, we pointed out that this model showed 7″ of rain was possible in Kewanee, Illinois, but 5″ was more realistic.  We also mentioned that while this graphic showed 3″ of rain in the Quad Cities, 2″ was more likely.  This was just one computer forecast model’s prediction of how much rain would fall.

When all was said and done and the skies parted and the rain ended, some hometowns south of the Quad Cities pick up close to 3″ of rain, but most areas saw only a fraction of what was forecast.  This was definitely not a banner forecast!  That happens in weather sometimes and just like riding a horse, you fall off and you get right back up and try it again.

However, that really ticked off a “former viewer” and he or she sat down and crafted a nice kiss off letter.

I read the letter and I totally agreed with the person about the blown forecast.  However, my agreement diverged when he/she said that we’re no better at forecasting now “than the guys were in the 1960s”.  Countless lives and billions of dollars have been saved with the advancement of weather forecasting in the past 50 years.

And, I really took offense with the afterthought, that big old P.S.

My name is not Jim Cantore of the Weather Channel.  I don’t see every rain shower as a potential flood or every snowflake as the “blizzard of the century”.  And, I don’t tell you that every thunderstorm will produce a tornado.

When I present my forecast to the viewers that choose me for their weather, I do so with confidence and authority.  I’ll tell you how I think it will all play out and I’ll also let you know if there is some doubt with the forecast.  Weather can be fickle.  However, dear Mr./Ms. former viewer, I’m not a drama queen when it comes to my weather presentation.

This letter actually reminds me of  a scene from “Mommie Dearest”, the 1981 movie,  when Joan Crawford and her daughter are having a knock down, drag out fight.

Joan Crawford: “Why can’t you give me the respect that I’m entitled to? Why can’t you treat me like I would be treated by any stranger on the street?”


Christina: “Because I am NOT one of your fans.”

Anthony

36 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on September 11, 2012 at 6:53 am

    Another classic from a jerk !

    Reply

  2. Posted by Phil Gerstel on September 11, 2012 at 6:56 am

    Anthony, I think you all do a great job. You are not only a good weather man but also a good kind person. Don’t let other peoples negativity get to you.

    Reply

    • Phil,

      Thank you very much for the kind comments.

      Honestly, I’ve developed a tough skin over the years and it really doesn’t both me anymore. You can’t please everyone.

      Plus, it gave me something to write about and make humorous. 🙂

      Have a great day, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Cindy Farmer on September 11, 2012 at 7:03 am

    OMG !! You’ve got to be kidding. I will say, that I have found you to be the most accuarate of all the weather forecastors at Channel 8. No worries, even Jim Cantore can’t be right all the time. It just seems that way because they’re on 24/7 and can start to change their previous predictions as the weather changes. You, on the other hand, have to wait hours sometimes to let us know that “the storm has changed directions and now will….”. You are a star in my eye Anthony ! 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kimberly Taylor on September 11, 2012 at 7:06 am

    WELL “I AM ONE OF YOUR FANS” !!!!!!!
    SO THAT MAKES UP FOR THE LETTER WRITTER :o)
    PRETTY FUNNY STUFF

    Kim

    Reply

  5. Cindy,

    You’re too sweet. I’m going to make a plaque with that on it, “You are a star in my eye Anthony ! ;-)”

    Have a great day, my friend. I hope things have settled down over your way! 🙂

    AP

    Reply

  6. Posted by Norma Jeane Smith on September 11, 2012 at 7:23 am

    Lol. People are funny in their dramatic fit-throwing tantrums. These are the people that you don’t want watching. Obviously he/she is lacking something somewhere in their own life and need so badly to try and feel empowered.

    Reply

  7. Norma Jeane,

    I know, right! But, like you said, it’s good for a laugh. However, it’s sad that they get so bent out of shape.

    Have a great day, my friend.

    AP

    Reply

  8. Anthony, I don’t even live in your area but when I am visiting Cindy and Bruce, I always enjoy your forecasts..I would be delighted if you would give me an accurate forecast of when this heat and humidity will stop out here in Palm Springs! The weather folks here are pretty good but our weather is very fickle right now and like you, they are doing their best, too.
    I liked that your former viewer hand-wrote the note..most folks would type off a note on their computer. So she probably should be living in the 60’s lol..
    Anyway, you know I think you do a good job Peeps!

    Barb

    Reply

  9. Barbara,

    Thank you very much for the kind words.

    Not only was it handwritten, but they wasted 45 cents to mail it. I’d buy and soda and just cuss at the television. 🙂

    The bottom line is that you can’t make everyone happy. I always do the best I can and make myself happy!

    Take care and enjoy your day.

    AP

    Reply

  10. Posted by Cori on September 11, 2012 at 8:23 am

    How dare they mess with my peeps!! You rock in my book AP. Luv ya!!

    Reply

  11. If they think they can do a better job by ll means let them…..If weather were a perfect art more of us would be doing it….I think you all do an awesome job and News channel 8 is not only my news of choice but y weather as well. Keep up the good work kids cause I think you all rock!

    Reply

  12. Probably not the first or the last letter this moron has written to complain about something. Shall we assume then this person only get’s one channel ? If not, then here is an idea, CHANGE THE CHANNEL !!!!!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Kathy Hyson on September 11, 2012 at 9:04 am

    I’ll join in the chorus of your fans Anthony!!! You are THE best weather forecaster hands down!! 🙂 That person must have cancelled an event and holds the channel 8 weather team responsible!!! On the bright side…they used pencil lead as ammunition!!! 🙂 Have a great day Anthony!

    Reply

  14. Kathy,

    You are too kind. That’s why I like you so! I appreciate the kind words. People can be so silly (me too, at times).

    Have a great day and rest of the week.

    AP

    Reply

  15. Posted by Elaine on September 11, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I think Channel 8 does and excellent job every day.And I watch it every day I feel I can trust Your forcast better than the others. Just keep up the great work Anthony and just remember some body must of crapped in their oatmeal that day.

    Reply

    • Elaine,

      Thank you for the kind words and for your loyalty. I (we) appreciate it.

      I just smile and take it with a grain of salt. Maybe that’s it — they put salt in their oatmeal instead of sugar!

      Have a great rest of the day!

      AP

      Reply

  16. Posted by Peggy Bowden on September 11, 2012 at 10:54 am

    When you were in Salisbury you were the most accurate weather reporter we had. One of your predecessors stood on the downtown plaza in a very visible snow storm telling the viewers there was no snow in the forecast. We got 4 inches. You are missed.

    Reply

    • Peggy,

      Thank you very much! Tell Delmarva hello for me!!!!!!!

      The only problem with Salisbury is that hardly anyone watched our station! We barely showed up in the ratings. You were one of the lucky ones. 🙂

      The snowstorm comment is too funny. Oops!

      I hope life is treating you well.

      Ap

      Reply

  17. Posted by Cindy Whiteman on September 11, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Charlie sends me stuff that the public sends often. I don’t get it, I just don’t GET why people are so nasty. I think you are amazing, and know that you are right 99 percent of the time!!!! XO

    Reply

    • Cindy,

      Doesn’t it just crack you up after you say “WTH”? It does me.

      Thank you very much. And, I’ll be modest and say 85-90%. LOL 🙂

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      P.S. I like the amazing part.

      Reply

  18. Posted by Lisa Taylor on September 11, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Wow! Now let’s try to find out where this person works, and write them a letter on what a lousy job they do!! Really, are you kidding me!! I work in the media as well, and it’s pretty funny how they are quick to point out a mistake, but God forbid they tell us when we are doing a good job!!! I really like that this person has no Balls at all, not to leave their name! Coward!!!

    Reply

    • Lisa,

      Isn’t that the truth!

      I know that we’re supposed to do the best job we can do each day and that should be the norm. However, we all have off days and then you throw in the fickle atmosphere and you have a mess sometimes. But, really? You waste time out of your day to write a letter

      Not putting a name or an address was interesting. I may have taken the time to respond if they would have and said, “I agree it was a bad forecast, blah blah blah.” Well, maybe not the blah blah blah.

      Take care, my colleague.

      AP

      Reply

  19. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on September 11, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    And not only what the letter said…but you guys ALWAYS cut in on the shows when the weather hits somewhere the writer doesn’t even live! How DARE you! 😉
    Love ya!

    Reply

  20. Kathy,

    I know. But, they probably ran out of paper. 🙂

    AP

    Reply

  21. Posted by Connie Huizenga on September 11, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Anthony- All of you at channel 8 do a fantastic job of watching out for us. The only person that is perfect is God and to my knowledge, God has not taken a vacation and appointed you in charge. Even if He did, you would do a fantastic job. You are right, you can not please everyone all of the time. Just know that all of you please 99.9% of us and we are the important part 🙂

    Reply

    • Connie,

      You’re too sweet and I appreciate it.

      Being perfect would be boring. However, I’d be a rich man from the lottery or banned from playing it. 🙂

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  22. Posted by Dorothy DeMay on September 11, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    Anthony, I trust your forecasting abilities. My brother-in-law was a meteorologist for the Marines (22 yrs) and he gets the weather report wrong sometimes too. I do remember that every weather report on every local station was all over on the rain amounts to be received that week. You were not alone in trying to make an accurate prediction, but who can predict a huricane? Anonymous Viewer obviously doesn’t know very much him/herself since they wouldn’t put their name to it. At least you all deliver the report with your face showing and not wearing a paper sack over your head! Love ya, Peeps! You’re the bomb!

    Reply

  23. Posted by Larry Newingham on September 11, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    some people just are nuts about The weather, I know I’m a nut about politics but even I’m this bad lol

    Reply

  24. Larry,

    I’m nuts about many topics. Or, I’m just nuts.

    AP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

