Happy Birthday Tammy!

Happy birthday, Tammy!

Today marks my sister’s 46th birthday.  We started the celebration yesterday by having pizza buffet at Wise Guys in Davenport.  Tonight, we’ll have dinner at home with cake and ice cream, so Gretel can be a part of it.  (Tammy, I didn’t mention the flavor of cake in case you’re reading this!) 🙂

Tammy was born in a small hospital in Fulton, Kentucky on September 24, 1966.

I’m almost two years older than my sister and I’m so glad she’s living in the same city after us spending so many years apart living in various parts of the country.  She won’t deny that we weren’t very close as youngsters.  We were always bickering.  I was the angel growing up and she was the devil. 🙂  Okay, she wasn’t Satan, but she was definitely a hellion.

However, Tammy is always quick to tell the story that as a baby, one day my mother came into the room and she couldn’t find her.  Tammy “claims” that I had shoved her up under the bed and when my mother asked where Tammy was, my reply was “I don’t know where the baby is”.  And, she goes on to say that I tried to feed her a chicken leg bone.  Where do kids come up with these stories?

I do remember the time when my sister and I made our television debut on the local NBC affiliate’s “Popeye” show with Captain Joe in May 1970.  I’ll never forget my sister’s answers when he asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up.  She replied, “a fire truck”!  He said, “do you mean a fireman?” And, she quickly shot back, “No, I want to be a fire truck and have fireman ride me and go “woo woo” (making a siren sound)!

When he came to me, I can’t remember what I said beyond him asking my name and when I replied, he asked if I was related to Tammy and I said, “No.  I don’t know her.”  My mother said we’d never be on television again.  Oh well, Moms know most everything!

That is Tammy’s high school senior picture from 1985.  While I was away at college, Tammy got married and had her first son in 1988 and another son in 1990.   We weren’t really close during that time, but that all changed in November 1990 when our mother died.

From that time to when I moved away to Chicago 1994, Tammy and I were much closer.  Although we only saw each other about once a year when she’d come to visit me wherever I was living or I’d go back to Tennessee (a couple of times) to see her, we had a great time.

Here are some of the pictures during that time.  The first is for the Michael Buble concert in Moline, Illinois, in 2008, and the second is in Louisville, Kentucky, in 2010 when Ray, ABBA, and I drove down and met Tammy there for the weekend to party.  That goofy picture is at Lynn’s Paradise Cafe’s gift shop, which is a fantastic restaurant to eat at!

Tammy finally moved to the Quad Cities at the end of August 2011.  I’m so proud of my baby sister and all that she has accomplished in getting her life back on track over the past year.  I know she misses her two granddaughters in Tennessee, but she knows she can drive back and visit whenever she wants.

These pictures are from last fall and the Christmas holiday — both firsts in the Quad Cities for Tammy.

Tammy, it’s great having you here and being an aunt to Gretel.  Here’s to another year and may we grow old together as brother and sister and neighbors.

Love,

Anthony

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cinchy on September 24, 2012 at 7:20 am

    Beautiful !!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Wanda on September 24, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Happy Birthday Tammy, have a Great day. I think most siblings are that way. My kids for sure right now. I think as we get older we appreciate each other more. So glad that U convince Tammy to move here and that U could keep a watch over each other. Wait ain’t thatwhat Big brother’s are for:) I miss my brother…when he was diagnoise with cancer..I took care of him for 5 years. Best time of my life. He was 16 yrs older than me…the only boy…with 5 girls 🙂 really got to know him during that time. I know he’s in a better place & not suffering anymore. Enjoy the time you have with each other and may U have many years of togetherness. Always good to have familes and get togethers.

    Reply

    • Wanda,

      Thank you for sharing your story. You will have those wonderful memories of the time you took care of your brother all your life. I know it was hard, but so loving and rewarding.

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  3. What a sweet brother you are Anthony. Happy birthday to your sister and have a great party.

    Reply

  4. Becky,

    Thank you. It’ll just be dinner and dessert, but we’re together!

    Take care,
    AP

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mary on September 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    This is so sweet and funny! Happy Birthday to Tammy, hope you will enjoy many more together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

