Houston, It’s Been 20 Years

Houston, we have a problem!  Actually, we have two problems.

One is being taken care of today.  I can’t believe it’s been twenty years since I last visited “Space City”.  Ray is attending a conference and I get to tag along and be a tourist this time and I know that I’ll be much more subdued than I was on my last visit.

The other problem is the weather this weekend.  While you’ll have spectacular weather in the Quad Cities with highs near 80° today and in the 70s tomorrow, check out this craziness in Houston.

This afternoon, when we arrive in Houston, we plan on driving over to Galveston Bay, walk along the Kemah Boardwalk and have dinner, and then drive back to the NASA/Johnson Space Center for the Ballunar Liftoff to see the Balloon Glow against the Texas evening sky tonight.

Earlier Saturday, there was a “Flash Flood Watch” for Houston and much of southeastern Texas.  As of mid-morning, while waiting in Chicago for our flight, that “Watch” for Houston has been cancelled!  Heavy rain is still possible today and tonight and the Balloon Glow is still in jeopardy to be cancelled tonight.  However, we’re still going to do the Boardwalk.  I’ve always wanted to walk in Paris in the rain.  Southeast Texas will be my Paris tonight!

When Ray isn’t at his conference, we plan on checking out the culinary delights of Houston, walk around and admire the architecture, go to a few of the clubs, and just live it up in the big city this week.

Ray has been to Texas, but not Houston.  My only time here was for Halloween in 1992 and it was also the very first time that I had been on a plane and it was awesome.

Although I’ve lived in the Quad Cities for almost seven years, I’ve never flown out of the airport here.  So, this will be another first for me.  I’ve been on three trips that required air travel since moving here, but I’ve always flown out of Chicago so that Mr. Panda could doggie sit for Miss ABBA.

My first trip to Houston was with my best friends, Steve and Dennis, from Kentucky.

While those are rather innocent pictures, prepare yourself for some scandalous flashback pictures from the Halloween party in the Montrose District!

Here are some of the better costumes that I saw that Halloween at JR’s.

At the time of my Houston visit, I had partied in Chicago, but not at Halloween.  So, we decided to go all out since no one knew us!!!

So there, you’ve been warned and it even scared Kevin!

Dennis and Hank, a longtime friend of Dennis’ that lived in Houston, decided to go in drag.  They put a lot of effort in their costumes and Dennis didn’t like it that we thought he looked like Suzanne Sugarbaker from “Designing Women”.

As you look at the wild pictures, remember I was in my carefree 20s, pre-Facebook!  However, don’t expect any pictures like this from Houston this time.

What’s interesting is that while dressed like this, I didn’t drink much that night and maybe that’s a good thing!  And, on this trip, there will be no boob admiration going on!

However, my last night in town, we went bar-hopping without costumes!

In 1992, I was still infatuated with Edward Lewis, Richard Gere’s character in “Pretty Woman” and yes, that is what I wore out that night to JR’s, Montrose Mining Company, and the Ripcord.

Dennis was too scared to stay at the Ripcord, but I stayed and had a great time.  While I didn’t pay for many drinks that night, I paid the price the next day with a major hangover on the flight back to Kentucky.

All and all, it was a fantastic first visit to Houston and I expect this one to surpass that one.  Here’s the icing on the cake.  The day after we got home from Houston, Bill Clinton was elected the 42nd President of the United States!

Have a great weekend.  I hope you weren’t too startled with the Halloween pictures!  Oh, those wild days twenty years ago!

Anthony

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wanda on September 29, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Aww Anthony ya look great and young in those days! Good pictures too, look like ya was having a Blast too. Glad U had the time to do that…ya have came a long way and look where U are now. A Beautiful family and what could a guy ask more for. Have a Great time with Ray and Partay too

    Reply

  2. While I wouldn’t trade my life now, I can feel so nostalgic for the early 90’s and my early 20’s! Thanks for sharing, Anthony!

    Reply

  3. OMG Anthony, scandalous!! Kidding…it looks like you were having an absolute blast! I love that you’ve embraced your younger days with such nostalgia and love. Sometimes a photo of me in my 20’s will surface, especially during my WIU days (or as I like to call it, my drunk era) and I want to curl up and hide. 🙂 I hope you have a great time in Houston, and may the weather odds be ever in your favor!

    Reply

    • Jenna,

      Trust me, I had those days and there are pictures to prove it. I wouldn’t trade any of it. It made me the person I am today.

      As long as we get there today with no delays, I’ll deal with it.

      Take care,
      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on September 29, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Absolutely love it! The pictures were amazing, & brought back so many great memories for me of my friends “back in the day”. Lordy, what a life I led back then, balancing college, a job, & um…”nightlife”. What’s left of my “posse” & I look back on that time now & say “How the hell did we ever do all that?” 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      Those days were so wild and so much fun. As we get older and our lives change, for better or worse, those fun days get you through so much. I would never trade any of those memories in for anything.

      Take care, my friend,.

      AP

      Reply

  5. walking around Galveston and along Seawall Boulevard would be even better.
    Take a boat ride off of Kemah Boardwalk!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kathy Hyson on October 1, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    I missed this blog somehow…love it!!! :))

    Reply

  7. Posted by susan c meador on October 6, 2013 at 9:00 am

    Loved your pics n blog but you just looked too thin…love the way u look now.u looked like u all were havn fun!!!so happy where u r in life now too~~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

