Happy Anniversary, Ray!

It’s been almost four years  (February 22, 2009) that Ray walked into our lives.  Miss ABBA and I were ready to leave the Quad Cities and were just waiting for the right job offer.  The one in Idaho Falls, Idaho was not the one.

As fate would have it, if you believe in fate, I stayed for another reason.  If you don’t believe in fate, then God had different plans for us.

I am so thrilled with the joy and happiness that Ray and Gretel brought to Miss ABBA’s final three years and I hope that Ray, Gretel, and I have many more years of bliss and happiness.

Wedding 9-30-2011

Wedding 9-30-2011

One year ago today, in the presence of Gretel, my sister, Tammy, my “Mom”, Betty, and Ray’s sister, Cindy, we said, “I do” and were married.

GroupWeddingPicture

Here is a video of our life together leading up to that big day.  And, you know what, we really are “so good together.”

And, if you’re still reading, here are the vows that I helped write for the ceremony:

“Loved ones, Ray and Anthony are honored with your presence to take part in this ceremony.  We’re here to witness the close relationship of these two friends — who are already one.

Love is more than the thrill of romance and of being deeply in love.  True love is looking in the same direction together and caring about your partner’s happiness as much as your own.

There is love at first sight, but happiness is not something that just happens.  It must be created.  It is remembering to say I love you.  It is at no time taking the other for granted.  It is standing together facing the world as one.  It is speaking words of appreciation.  This union is to appreciate the imperfections in each other and being patient and understanding and having the capacity to forgive and forget.

Ray, do you take Anthony to be your lawfully wedded life partner?  Will you promise to  love, honor and respect him?  Share the good times and achievements as well as the hard times?  Keep him in sickness and in sorrow and to be faithful to him always:  If so, answer “I do.”

Anthony, do you take Ray to be your lawfully wedded life partner?  Will you promise to  love, honor and respect him?  Share the good times and achievements as well as the hard times?  Keep him in sickness and in sorrow and to be faithful to him always:  If so, answer “I do.”

Ray, please repeat after me:

I, Raymond Patrick Forsythe, pledge to you, Anthony Gene Peoples, as my friend, my love, and my companion / to love, honor, and cherish / as long as we both shall live.

Anthony, please repeat after me:

I, Anthony Gene Peoples, pledge to you, Raymond Patrick Forsythe, as my friend, my love, and my companion / to love, honor, and cherish / as long as we both shall live.

Let these rings symbolize the devotion and commitment each holds for the other.  These rings, given in love, are a testimony to all that bear witness that Ray and Anthony are truly joined together as life partners.

Ray, please place this ring on Anthony’s finger and repeat after me: Take this ring as a sign of my love / and as a symbol of all that we share / of my constant faith and abiding love.

Anthony, please place this ring on Ray’s finger and repeat after me: Take this ring as a sign of my love / and as a symbol of all that we share / of my constant faith and abiding love.

While you are two persons, there is only one life before you.  A life not only for Ray & Anthony, but also for Gretel, ABBA, Jackie, & Tiger.

May beauty surround you both in the journey ahead and through all the years and may happiness be your companion and may you be “so good together”.

Inasmuch as you have consented together in marriage, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the laws of the State of Iowa, I now pronounce you life partners.  You may now kiss.”

Rings

Those were the words we said to each other one year ago.

Ray, happy anniversary.  I love you!

Anthony

31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JanetRobinson on September 30, 2012 at 7:42 am

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!! AND TO GRETEL TOO!!!

    Reply

  2. simply beautiful !!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by DogmomDiva on September 30, 2012 at 7:48 am

    How can it be a year already, what beautiful vows. We renewed our vows on our 30th anniversary in 2007, and I think the words meant more then than when we were first married…Many, many happy years to a wonderful family and good friends:)

    Barb & Carl

    Reply

  4. Posted by Erin Zenor on September 30, 2012 at 8:52 am

    What beautiful vows and wonderful words to start your wedded life together. Gretel is a lucky girl to have you both.

    I wish you both Happy Anniversary and many more happy years together.

    Erin

    Reply

  5. Posted by glena cale on September 30, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Wow what an awesome video.there wasn’t one picture that you wasn’t smiling. Congradulations to you.I hope I could find a love like that someday.have a great anniversary

    Reply

  6. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on September 30, 2012 at 9:51 am

    That was a beautiful video tribute. It is nice to see good people happy together. You are a blessed. Happy anniversary. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mary McCabe on September 30, 2012 at 10:07 am

    This brought a smile to my face. You three look so happy! Congrats!

    Reply

  8. Ray and anthony the video was so touching. I hope that the both of you find ever lasting peace and happiness for the rest of your lives. Love Ya both.

    Reply

  9. Happy Anniversary Anthony & Ray….May your lives always be as blessed as they are today. Thank you for sharing your beautiful vows….Simple perfection at its best…. ❤

    Reply

  10. Posted by Kathy Markham McCoy on September 30, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Beautiful vows for a beautiful love story. Here’s to a lifetime of happiness & love, & to people realizing love is love whether it’s man/woman, woman/woman or man/man.

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      Thank you, my friend, for always being supportive. You’re right. Love is love and I hope everyone finds it once, twice, or however many times they need to be happy.

      AP

      Reply

  11. Posted by Kathy Hyson on September 30, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    That is so beautiful! Happy Anniversary Anthony and Ray…may your lives together be blessed with much happiness and love! ( This one made me smile and brought tears to my eyes….:) )

    Reply

  12. Posted by joann conner on September 30, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    All i can say is what a beautiful ceremoney!!!! May you have many good years together!!1

    Reply

  13. Posted by susan c meador on September 30, 2013 at 5:42 am

    A very Happy Anniversary…I loved loved loved your video!!And getting to read your vows!God does work in great ways~~~

    Reply

  14. Posted by Daren Harris on September 30, 2013 at 6:21 am

    Such a beautiful and cherished moment to share Anthony.
    May you, Ray, and Gretle have a beautiful life together, full of amazing memories.
    So glad Idaho Falls wasn’t your destination.
    Your buddy, Daren

    Reply

    • Daren,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. And, I totally agree with you. While Idaho Falls may be beautiful, I’m glad I didn’t leave. Look what I would have missed out on!

      Take care, my friend,
      AP

      Reply

  15. Posted by Sarah Gramenz on September 30, 2013 at 9:56 am

    I think I might cry! So sweet! Happy for your happiness, I pray it lasts through eternity!

    Reply

    • Sarah,

      You’re too sweet. Thank you for the kind words and I wish you the same.

      If you watched the video, tomorrow I’m posting the reception video, which I love just as much.

      AP

      Reply

  16. Posted by Brigitte on September 30, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    You 2 are vey lucky to have found your life partner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

